Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers: Dinner Explosion


One thing I hate about moving is I can never seem to find the things I need. For the first month or so, my place would be filled with boxes and I don’t have the time to stay home and slowly go through and unpack the boxes because who will bring home the bacon if I did that? Breakfast and dinner are always a hassle.

Like tonight, I finally discovered my spaghetti pot but couldn’t find the sauce pan. I like my marinara sauce cooked in a separate pan from the pasta for personal reasons. So I ended up using my favorite mug.

It was a M.E.S.S.

Using the mug meant I had to cook the sauce in the microwave, which I dislike. When the sauce began boiling, I ran to stop the microwave but I was a moment too late. I wrenched open the microwave door and the inside looked like a volcano had erupted. Marinara sauce covered the exterior of the mug and the microwave, ugh…I don’t even want to talk about it.

(~175 words)

I am participating in Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writer, where we write a piece between 100 and 150 words (more or less 25 words) in length inspired by the photo prompt above. 

9 thoughts on “Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers: Dinner Explosion

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?