Summer Harvest


So here are some pictures from the recent harvest of blackberries. I have a suspicion there is a lot to come.

wpid-dscf0174_20150715101601601.jpg

My mom picked these. I told her to only pick the ones that are black as coal but she didn’t believe me. After all, what do I know? I’ve only been the sole harvester of blackberries for last three years or so.

“Whatever,” she said and popped a red one into her mouth.

“I told you,” I sighed as I watched her squeeze her eyes shut like she had just drunk a spoonful of apple cider vinegar. “The red ones are extremely sour.” I told her afterwards.

That’s why it’s called blackberries and not red berries because they are only sweet when it’s black. I think she had learned her lesson though, just like I learned mine back in 2012. I guess there’s always a first time for everything.

wpid-dscf0156.jpg

Here is a close-up on the blackberries bushes. It’s just a matter of time before these ripen and are ready to be picked.

wpid-dscf0145.jpg

There is! One ripened blackberry. They are sweet as sugar.

wpid-dscf0164.jpg

Just to give you a perspective of the amount of berries in the backyard. This is just a fraction. I thought after my aunt botched the pruning last fall, we would have less berries or none at all this year but instead, we have more. It is incredible.

wpid-dscf0154.jpg

Here are the watermelons my mom planted about two weeks back. Look at how much they’ve grown. Apparently, watermelons like heat and water. That’s probably why people love it so much in the summer. I am so looking forward to this harvest.

wpid-dscf0146.jpg

Finally, while the roses are taking a break, the dahlias are blooming in the front yard. Not a lot though, after all, we have just planted them last Summer. It’ll take a little time to grow. This flower has been around for about a week or two and that is already longer than the roses.

12 thoughts on “Summer Harvest

  1. Lovely post, Yinglan.Your blackberries are coming ready so much earlier than ours, which is to be expected, considering our different climates. Ours won’t be ready for a few weeks yet. I’m afraid watermelons would never grow here! lol Pity, I love the things. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is early for us, actually. We don’t typically pick blackberries until the end of July or early August. I think it’s the heat that made it early. Thank you for reading.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The blackberries sure look very tempting. I’ve always wondered what’s with the colour red. You might think them to be juicy and sweet but it would only be after you pop them in your mouth that you realize that they aren’t as tempting as they look. Watermelons are – Mr.Cool of summer season. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m a newbie gardener and my dahlias have died. I love how you did those fencing kind of things. I really need to learn how to do that for my vine-y plants. Will follow!

    Liked by 1 person

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?