Share Your World – Week of July 31, 2017


If you had to have your vision corrected would you rather: glasses or contacts? Or what do you use if you need to have your vision corrected?

Because of my genetic disorder, my left eye is so horribly far-sighted that alone, I can’t see a thing. You can call it blind, I guess, but with my right eye, I get 20/20. However, the optometrist still prescribed me glasses. He said, either glasses or monocle or one contact lens and there’s no way I’m going to let my eye problem turn me into the guy from Monopoly or jab my left eye every morning. So glasses it is.

Are you more of a dog person or a cat person?

I am more of a stuffed animal person. Yes, I’m an animal lover, just not fit enough to raise one. I do like to run my fingers through its soft fur though.

Let’s don’t forget a large bedroom with a view

If you were to buy a new house/apartment what is the top three items on your wish list?

I just bought a new house and I’m now waiting for the house to close (get settled). The house, sadly to say, has none of the things on my wish list. Here are the top three items on my wish list:

  • Minimal stairs – people call it a “split level” home but really they just want to make people walk. I don’t want to walk a dozen steps just to get something in my room.
  • Rustic with lots of charm and character – the houses around my neighborhood are so cookie-cutter because it was built in bulk. I like the houses in Downtown Salt Lake, every one of those old houses look different from one another and each one has that previous century charm to it.
  • A large bedroom – as usual, even though I’m paying the mortgage, I’m still getting one of the smaller bedrooms, NOT the master suite. Boo!

What inspired you this past week?  Feel free to use a quote, a photo, a story, or even a combination. 

It was payday last week and just about the only thing that got me moving forward last week. Yay!

041514 sywbanner

Share Your World Challenge

Image Source (except noted): Google

17 thoughts on “Share Your World – Week of July 31, 2017

  1. Neat always love finding out more about you. Love your chosen bedroom, and I agree, you should get the larger bedroom if you pay the mortgage, if not Mom should be contributing and vice verse if the situation was reversed. However, I do realize in the Chinese culture parents are more expectant fir their kids to take care of the, when they are older, that’s what I’ve learned from my Dad and his Chinese guests. Leas stairs are always good, especially if it’s a house you intend to live in until your Mom, or even you are older. Also isn’t fun caring laundry up and down stairs and other things.

    Many people are afraid of contacts but once you learn to put them in, they are rather much easier than glasses as you can see from the side and above and below as you can’t with glasses. You don’t poke your eye just look upward and place the contact on your eye. Sometimes takes a coyote tries but not many.

    Daily contacts are actually the best I think, using a new contact lense everyday and their are web sites such as 1800contacts and Clearlycontacys where a person can get contacts much cheaper than an eye doctor sells them for.

    I understand people’s fear of them but having terrible vision since I have had worsening vision in both eyes since I was about 11. But when I finally got contact lenses at 18 they were so much better, especially if u do not have a stigmatism. You still need glasses at night, but can replace those much less often and glasses are incredibly expensive here. Like for me, $1000.00 pair if the frames aren’t too fancy, my vision is at about -9.75, it started at -6.5 in grade six.

    Another thing to try when u have $ and less student loans is laser eye Surgery. Make sure u get the ‘laser’ kind as it is garunteed for life and if your vision worsens, you just go back and fix it every time. It’s not as bad as it sounds easier, quick, and maybe a day, two at most, & you’re good to go. Right after it’s been done u notice the difference.

    Cost my friend $6000 or so for both eyes (and her vision was bad too) 4 or so years ago, my other friend who has even worse eyes, around what mine are, had it last year and the technology had gotten even better and the price cheaper at $4200.00. I’m considering having it in the future when I’m able to save for it. And guess for you it would be half price if u only need to fix the one eye, which is a great thing 🙂

    Those are just ideas but if you’re fine with glasses that’s okay too. The surgery at a reputable eye doctor is worth it I think considering the costs added up from glasses frames, glasses lenses and coatings, glasses cleaner, contacts, contact lense solution, separate contact lense eye exams etc.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m not sure laser will do me any good, at least according to the doctor, who told me because of my genetic disorder, something behind my left eye couldn’t be developed during puberty, thus resulted in the poor eyesight. So even though my left eye is only +2.5, I can’t see a thing. Everything is super blurry. Even when I wear glasses, sometimes, it’s not much better but with right eye, I get 20/20 and I’m okay with that.

      Liked by 1 person

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

