#WeekendCoffeeShare: All Alone Saturday


If we were having coffee, I would tell you good morning and thanks for joining me for another lovely weekend chat. I’m all alone this Saturday because my mom and aunt are adventuring somewhere between California and Utah. I think they are going to Bryce Canyon National Park but I’m not too sure. My mom’s itinerary is constantly shifting.

Anyway, I’m all alone in this big house but don’t feel bad for me. I am happy to spend a day or two alone. It’s been a while since I’ve had any alone time. There are plenty of things I can do by my lonesome.

The trip was kinda spontaneous, the one my mom and aunt are taking. We didn’t learn of the trip until last Monday, July 3rd, when our friend decided to move back to California. My mom offered to help and that was how the trip began. They left for California two days later and I’ve been alone since then.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you I enjoyed the three-day weekend this week. It was quite a relaxing Independence Day. What was hard was going back to work the day after.

Anyway, I went to plenty of places over the weekend and here are some of the pictures of those places.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you work has been going okay. The company has decided to hire two more interns for the office – a girl with a Master degree in Marketing and a guy whose name I can barely remember. I only know he’s from Malaysia. They are a good looking pair.

I’m starting to think Mr. COO is looking for good looking boys and girls for the office. I mean, he doesn’t care for the fact that they’re international students and they can only work here for 12 months because after that, they won’t have status in the country nor does he care that their internships have nothing to do with their majors.

Anyway, I think it’ll be nice to have a few more people in the office so Mr. COO will pick on me less.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you something that made me feel good this week – having my boss (not Mr. COO) praise on my financial reports. He said it was very detailed and he could see clearly of how the company is doing. He had a few pointers which I need to work on by the end of this month but those few pointers did not trump the praise. That completely made my week.

If we were having coffee, I would thank you for joining me and hope I can join you again next weekend.

 

26 thoughts on “#WeekendCoffeeShare: All Alone Saturday

  1. Alone time is so nice.. Hope things get better at work but at least you have someone that gives praise and appreciation where it’s due.. Loved the photos, that is the countryside I long for.. Enjoy your week!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m happy you will have more people in your office to talk with and probably to teach. I hope they are nice interns despite their looks and you become friends or at the very least, friendly colleagues. I’m happy Mr. COO is coming around.

    There a those who you have to prove yourself to and put up with their BS to get on their good side and past their worse qualities.So I hope his praising you on your report was a good thing and it seems from what u write, his criticism was the helpful kind, not the mean kind. I hope he keep it’s up and stops micromanaging you. Perhaps it’s a turning point? Besides he has the interns to bother now 🙂 Best of luck. Enjoy your alone time my friend .

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Yinglan,
    Your work situation sounds quite stressful but hopefully improving a bit. Hope so.
    I thought you’d enjoy reading a flash fiction piece I wrote this week about a former boss of mine. The comments are well worth reading as well: https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2017/07/05/the-boss/?wref=tp
    You are certainly not the only one in a difficult work situation, which is something I always appreciate. That other people understand.
    Hope you have a great week.
    xx Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    • Work is quite stressful at times but with all said and done, at the end of the day, I get to go home and forget all about it and just relax. 😊 Have a great week to you too.

      Like

  4. Pingback: One Lovely Blog Award – A Writer's Beginning

  5. Alone time is usually rare for me, as we have one of our sons, daughter-in-law, 4yr old grandson and a friend who has been a part of our home, all living with us. SO WONDERFUL, when it does happen! If I was having coffee with you, I would tell you how how great my life is, even when there’s little alone time. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

