Share Your World – Week of June 26, 2017


What goal are you working on now? Your goal can be something fun or extremely serious.  Have fun with this question.

I think a goal I need to work on is to try to enjoy life one day or one moment at a time and quit thinking so far ahead. I need to stop thinking where I will be or what I’m going to do in a month, three months, or even a year from now. I need to live in the moment.

My mom and friend are encouraging me to look for another job because no matter from what perspective I look at this job, there’s a cultural difference which makes me feel like an outsider in the company. I’m not sure yet.

Maybe I’ll stay three months before looking for another job. So that’s another goal, to have a job where I feel like I belong, such as there’s a common language, a job that make me feel fulfilling and happy because what is life without happiness and how can I succeed in my career when I’m always dodging long-winded critical bosses?

Adam’s Canyon

What is one thing you’re glad you tried but would never do again?

One thing I’m glad I tried but would never do again would probably be hiking Adam’s Canyon. Adam’s Canyon is a hiking trail about a 5-10 minutes drive from my home. It is a 4.6-mile one-way hike up the canyon to see a magnificent waterfall and no, I’ve never completed the trail.

Last fall was my third and last time I hiked this trail. I was about 0.5 miles from the waterfall when the trail became strenuous and dangerous. Due to my clumsily and trouble breathing, my mom and I decided to turn back before anything disastrous happened.

As a substitute for not completing Adam’s Canyon, I decided to hike up Waterfall Canyon a few weeks ago to see another waterfall. I think the spectacular waterfall at the top of Waterfall Canyon completely makes up for the fact that I cannot complete Adam’s Canyon.

Waterfall Canyon

Did you choose your profession or did it choose you?

I neither chose my profession nor did it choose me. Being raised by a control freak, I never had my own choices. Both of my undergraduate degrees, civil engineering and accounting, were chosen by my mom and her friends.

If I could have the choice of choosing my profession, I would either be a writer, mathematician, graphic designer, or an IT person. I’m an accountant now but I guess that’s good too as long as I don’t screw up the numbers.

Have you ever gotten lost?

Yes, I have gotten lost even though I have a pretty good sense of direction. I usually get lost when I choose to avoid traffic by going down an unfamiliar road or when it’s dark. I have trouble seeing road signs and roads at night even when I use the high beams. That’s why I try to not go out after dark.

This actually happened the day I drove back to the U.S from Canada on my 15-day road trip in May. It was rainy and dark. Even with the high beams, I couldn’t see much in front of me. Also, the signal of the navigation system was going in and out.

When I was supposed to get on the interstate, I turned one street too soon and found myself on a service road. Clueless of where I was and with the navigation system had chosen to lose signal, my hands began to tremble and heart began to pound. That’s not good for driving. Meanwhile, my aunt sat next to me, as cool as a cucumber, being no help at all because she didn’t understand English or knew how to read a map. 😒

Eventually, after twenty minutes or so, I found my way back to the interstate and for the remainder of the road trip, we were to return to the motel before dark because apparently, I have a sort of night blindness when driving at night.

041514 sywbanner

Share Your World Challenge

Image Source (except noted): Google

11 thoughts on “Share Your World – Week of June 26, 2017

  1. Neat answers. I’m glad for your sake, you didn’t finish that forsake. And I’m very impressed you gave a BA in Civil Engineering along with your new accounting BA. Engineering is really difficult to get into her (at least in Canadian Universities) and I hope perhaps there is some creativity to the mathematical side of it, that you have found useful. The accounting is pretty amazing too, my Mom does this as a manager/supervisor in her area and I know it takes a person who is detailred, has good processes, and is exacting.i have no doubt you are good and kind find another place to work. I think if you sappy in a professional manner that yoyur problematic bosxwas ‘racially discriminating’ and a micromanager, that did not trust your or your fellow employees skills, casing you both to quit (if they ask why you meet), it will be fine and finding a good job shouldn’t be an issue for you. Best of luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. Engineering was a tough major and I had a hard time with it and was surprised I passed any of the classes. I did like the mathematics side of engineering but didn’t particularly enjoy the creative side because it was very difficult for me to imagine the technical stuff. Accounting was quite simple for me. The difficult part about accounting were the tax laws. I hated memorizing those laws, so many of them. 😀
      I definitely feel my boss is constantly doubting my skills at my currently workplace. He constantly doubts my calculations and often tries to find faults with my report formatting. I often tell him, I don’t format these reports, the software formats them and I can’t do any re-formatting but after a few times, I just ignore his comments and think, either you read it or you don’t, I don’t care and if you don’t like it, then let me go.

      Liked by 1 person

      • You have a good attitude and that always help. I though maybe a job in accounting at an Engineering or Construction firm, or a development company might be a great place for you with having both those degrees. Yes I have heard how hard engineering is. My youngest brother got in here last minute to the U of A. He probably would have done well but he didn’t hear in time and was already doing other courses at a different university. Best of luck with work!

        Liked by 1 person

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

