#WeekendCoffeeShare: Life’s Great Dramas


Credit: encore-more.com

If we were having coffee, I would tell you good morning and thanks for joining me for another lovely weekend chat.  Then I’ll pour you some coffee while I’ll have an iced green tea since the temperature is supposed to climb into the mid-90’s today. Yikes!

You see, I’ve taken the advice of fellow blogger, BettyLouise31, and switched to green tea two weeks ago. And guess what, the nightmares stopped and I was able to sleep again. Thank you BettyLouise31.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you I once again had a helluva week. It didn’t have much to do that annoying, judgmental, and egotistical COO, the one I mentioned last week. It was the combination of office, personal, and family drama that made the week crazy.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you there were great drama in the office this week. It was better than watching soap opera but going through that myself is definitely not the same and this drama sure brought some devastating results. My co-worker quit and now, I’m set to take her place which include HR and cleaning – sweeping, mopping, washing dishes. I hate cleaning, no, not hate, super duper hate it. Therefore, I pray they’ll remove that from my new job description.

Apparently, the managing director told the egotistical COO to be nicer to me after my co-worker told him I was going to quit last week.

Believe it or not, the same thing happened to another co-worker when he first started working here. The COO was terrible to him but after a weekend of golf, the COO’s attitude toward that co-worker suddenly turned 180-degrees. I believe the same thing is happening to me now and I’m definitely grateful for my co-worker saying something. At the same time, I doubt this niceness will last forever. For now, I’m giving myself three months. If I can survive three months, then I’ll keep going for another three months. If not, I’ll quit. That is it. One can only tolerate so much.

On the bright side, it was so busy in the factory that the COO didn’t get to my weekly bank reconciliation. Whew! I survived a week with little emotional torture from this egotistical maniac.

Credit: DeviantArt

If we were having coffee, I would tell you I’m saying goodbye to my tablet this week. It suddenly stopped working on Tuesday which made me anxious and twitchy the entire day.

I couldn’t believe after all the fun times we’ve had together in the last four years that it is now heading to its afterlife or wherever computers and tablets go after they die.

I’m going to mourn while I get myself a new tablet. 😢😢😢

I don’t think it’ll ever be the same though. It’s like a first love, you know. Once you lose that, you’ll never look at something the same. I feel a deep fear now because what if I get a lemon? What if the new tablet breaks again? I’m not sure if I can go through that again but that’s technology, right? Ugh!

If we were having coffee, I would also tell you I’m worried about my cousin in China. On Thursday morning, he posted a message in WeChat, a social media tool we use to keep in touch, “Sometimes, I really don’t want to be human.” He posted this message along with a picture of a panda sitting faced to the wall. I quickly replied, “What? Why?” He never replied.

That afternoon which was morning in China, he posted another message, “Insomnia strikes again. I’m feel like I’m have to go into mental asylum.”

Credit: Brainscape

I immediately messaged him, “What’s wrong? Are you okay?”

He replied, “Not much, only I can’t sleep.”

“Normally, insomnia is caused when the mind is unsettled. Have you tried meditation?” I wrote. He replied no.

So step by step, I walked him through the steps of meditation and he agreed to try it. Our conversation ended. I didn’t want to bother him but I hope it worked. Seeing my cousin posting messages like that really frightened me because my cousin had been diagnosed with mild case of depression and along with insomnia, it’s not good. So I’m worried about him. Not just worried, really worried and I think my family is worried as well since he’s the only one who will keep the family name going.

I’ll have to call my grandma tonight and ask her for some help with my cousin. I hope she’ll do it. Meanwhile, I’ll pray for his well-being. Please cousin, be well.

Lastly, if we were having coffee, I would thank you for joining me and hope I can join you again next weekend.

16 thoughts on “#WeekendCoffeeShare: Life’s Great Dramas

  1. I hope your COO continues to treat you well. Thinking of BettyLouise31, she left a message on my coffeeshare to let people know she won’t be on this week because she is having problems with her blog. Have a good week!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks Yinglan for the plug. I am glad stopping coffee work for you. I have not been able to post on my blog. I can’t even start a new WordPress. All my efforts to correct the situation have not work. It happened when Chrome update all my computers. I probably start a new blog on blogger network. If I follow you I might be able let you know. I am just sick about the situation. Hope your work problems continue on the plus side. My life is becoming stressful.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. First, I’ll a drink a cold green tea with you. I like hot tea at times in the winter but I’ve become a cold tea drinker lately. David’s Tea has amazing green tea favours, I love Green Tea and Mango or Green Tea and Papaya. I hardly drink pop b/c it’s slightly flavoured and tastes wonderful cold. If I might some fizz I add sparkling water and it tastes so good with a green tea flavour or another cold tea. They have a white tea called ‘Buddha (something?) and it’s so good as well 🙂 Wow! Talk about offic drama? Isn’t there a receptionist or ad,in person? The cleaning up, washing dishes, should be here job. I feel bad it was so terrible your friend in HR quit. Do you et paid more doing her position and yours? You should! Oh yeah, my Dad found the same thing when he stopped drinking cofefee he slept much better. I’m sorry about your cousin. Has he tried melatonin or atea that makes you sleep? I know the chinese have some great herbal teas. Hope he’s okay. You’re a good cousin/friend.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mmm… all kinds of ice tea sounds great, especially the ones with fruit and sugar and ice. 😀
      Unfortunately, there’s no receptionist. My friend’s job description was office manager but she did basically everything from cleaning to hiring. I still feel sad for her for getting tortured by that horrible COO but I think she did the right thing by quitting.
      I’m not sure if I will get much more by doing her job along with mine. I’m not even sure if I want it. It’s so much work, work that I don’t know how to do.
      I don’t think such things as melatonin exist in China, at least, I’ve never seen it. I hope he’s okay too.
      Thank you for having tea with me. 😉

      Like

  4. Wow you’ve had your tablet for four years — that’s like 40 in tech years. Haha. That’s quite a long time. The irony of it all is that work in technology and I’ve had a phone for 3 years before I had to buy a new one. People thought that was crazy. I do pride in taking care of my stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

    • So my seven-year-old laptop would be like 90 or 100 in tech years. 😀 Some people do think that’s crazy like my co-worker who asked why I’m still using such an old tablet, I asked her whether she thought money was grown on trees. Because being new technologies are always so expensive.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Sorry to hear about the loss of tablet ..i think it might hit me hard, even though I have a back up. Green tea –and white are very healthy alternatives..if work smoothes out the nightmares should be banished forever. Thanks for the tea.

    Liked by 1 person

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

