Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers: Trapped In a Castle


“You said it’s supposed to work,” Angrily, he rammed his fist into the wall. The stones cracked and crumbled at the impact. His caretaker immediately shrunk into darkness. In a blink of an eye, he crossed the room and grabbed his caretaker by the neck.

“Go ahead,” His caretaker breathed, “kill me, like you killed your past ten caretakers who failed you.”

“You promised me you will get me out of damn castle so I can get to the nearest village without being burned by the sun.” He snarled. After a moment, he released his caretaker who panted like a dog while rubbing his neck. With a sigh, he made his way to the chair beside the fireplace and sat. “This is the things I get for trusting a pesky warlock, get trapped in a castle for all eternity. I lost my family, my love, my friends, all because I was too damn trusting.”

In the corner, his caretaker at last caught his breath, “I will get you out of here, this I can promise.”

(~175 words)

I am participating in Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writer, where we write a piece between 100 and 150 words (more or less 25 words) in length inspired by the photo prompt above. 

14 thoughts on “Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers: Trapped In a Castle

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

