Photo of the Day!


This was my favorite and most dangerous part of my road trip. It was when I got to hop onto the ice explorer, one of the twenty-two automobiles made in the world for ice, and descend onto the icefield.

To be honest, I didn’t know what an icefield was until that day. I didn’t know it was a place where thousands of years of ice is buried beneath a thick layer of snow. I wasn’t expecting to be so windy and I certainly wasn’t expecting to walk on ice, my worst nightmare after my chain of falls during the 2013 ice storm but standing there on the ice made me feel like I’ve stepped into another world, an ancient one, somewhere that’s yet to be explored and this was the photo I took standing on the ice.

 

Want more? Please check out my Instagram profile.

Technical Details

Sony NEX-5T v. 1.00 (f/13, 16 mm, ISO-100, 1/800 sec)

12 thoughts on “Photo of the Day!

  1. Brave. I’m not sure if you were on this in the US or on the one in Alberta called the Columbia Icefields? I remember my parents taking us there one summer in my teenage years and we went on a tour. The tour guide said you have to be so careful on the ice field. We too stood on it for a quick picture or two but I always remember how people have disappeared in here and never been found because well you just can’t find them in a Icefield and even a WWII big hummer fell into there somehow. One story the guide told us was of a park ranger who disappeared into the ice field and went through many channels within and was lucky to come out of the Icefield alive. You feel glad for the guy but I think that would be such a scary incident to live through! Wonderful pic!

    Liked by 1 person

    • This was in Alberta. There’s no icefields in the U.S. According to the guide, approximately 90% of icefields are located along route 93. I guess that’s why it’s called the Icefields Parkway. 😀
      Indeed, you have to be careful not to slip on the ice and you should never go beyond the marked boundary.
      Oh, definitely, that’ll be a scary incident to live through.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yinglan, I admire you so much for your many adventures. You put so much energy into learning – in all the ways you have the chance. Your curiosity and motivation are remarkable for a young person. 😀 I love the picture and the information you have shared.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow! Glaciers and icefields are among the most dangerous mountaineering obstacles. To go onto one of the Chilean icefields last December, we were all required to go through a crevasse-rescue review course (photo in the comments from Feb. 28), and we had to stay roped for most of the trip. I’ll have to go back through my photos from the icefield… there were a couple of pretty good crevasse shots.

    No real icefields in the US, but there are plenty of dangerously glaciated mountains. Even roped and with crampons (boot spikes) and an ice axe, climbers have to be very careful.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi
    Nice post! I’ve made a post about ice so if you have time and will please go and check it out! If you like it pls follow me, I follow you.
    Thank you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

