Crazy Horse Memorial


Earlier last week, before we left South Dakota for Yellowstone, my aunt and I visited the Crazy Horse Memorial which is about 30 minutes from the motel. I didn’t know much about the memorial before I went other than the few videos I’ve watched on Mount Rushmore via YouTube. Basically, the video said, “If you’re seeing Mount Rushmore, you must go to Crazy Horse Memorial as well.”

The day was very cloudy but thank goodness no rain. When we arrived at the gate, the man told us we wouldn’t be able to see the mountain today due to cloud coverage. He gave us 50% off the ticket price which shocked my aunt. “I’ve never heard of such thing in China,” she said, “giving visitors discount because they wouldn’t be able to see the landmark.”

Anyway, we soon reached the parking lot and entered the visitor center. I gave the tickets to the man and he gave us a re-admit slip, “good for 3 days,” it read. Excellent, I thought and heading for the theater. I always like to be informed about the landmark with a movie.

The movie was indeed informative. It turned out this project is still going on. For how long? No one knows but it’s clear this project will be passing on from generation to generation.

After the film, we returned outside and took a quick shuttle up the mountain to see Crazy Horse up close. This was the best I could get under the cloudiness. Less than an hour later, we returned to tour the largest Native American museum in North America. The collections in this museum are completely donated by many different families and had been authenticated.

While my aunt took pictures around the museum, I thoroughly enjoyed the museum and learned quite a bit about the Native American heritage. It was something that teachers don’t normally teach in class. After the museum, I headed for the gift shop to purchase some postcards to keep as souvenirs before heading outside.

The clouds had finally cleared to see the memorial in the distance and compared to the model, it looked like it’s got a long way to go.

Seeing the clear sky (even though it’s still cloudy), we decided to take the shuttle up the mountain once more before leaving. This time, photo success. I even got the detail of Crazy Horse’s face. The guide/driver was even more informative than the first tour. He explained it will take about 12 to 14 years to complete Crazy Horse’s hand and arm. Well, that should give me a reason to visit again. In 12 to 14 years?

Daily Post Photo Challenge

12 thoughts on “Crazy Horse Memorial

  1. Pingback: Heritage: History | What's (in) the picture?

  2. Pingback: Crazy Horse Memorial – magicandbeauty

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

