Friday Fictioneers: From the Heart


PHOTO PROMPT © Liz Young

Note: This is part non-fiction!

Hi, dad, it’s me again. I know, three times in a year. What a shock! How’d you been? Wherever you are?

I came alone this time because I felt annoyed during my last two visits. It wasn’t much annoyance as exposed. I felt exposed with others watching me as I spent my time with you and then after asking me what I’ve said to you. What happened to privacy?

I’ve missed you, dad. I wish you were still around. Did I mention I graduated college? Did I mention I’m job hunting? *sigh* Oh and I’m so craving a father figure.

(100 words)

 

The fiction part of the story is the “third visit”. I visited my dad twice within a two-week period earlier this month and wasn’t comfortable both times due to my nosy relatives. I choked on what I wanted to say both times. So here I am, expressing my thoughts which is much better in words. I hope you’re reading this, dad, wherever you are.

 

Each week, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple hosts Friday Fictioneers where we’re challenged to write a piece of flash fiction in 100 words, more or less, based on the picture above.

23 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: From the Heart

  1. Thank you for inspiration, you led me to consider that the power of the pen is sometimes mightier than the spoken word. Then if the words are placed on paper they may flow to all corners of this place we call the universe. I hope that my parents will be pleased with my offerings.

    Liked by 1 person

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

