Which Way in Zhongshan Park


These will probably be my last which way pictures of China. Maybe some old, never-before-posted which way pictures may surface in the future but these are most likely the last new pictures I will take of China. It’s been a fun trip, been to plenty of places, got bitten by mosquitoes more times than I like, and I am looking forward to hopping on a plane and going home next Monday.

Anyway, these pictures were taken on Monday, April 3. It was the day my grandma invited me to the first five-star hotel in Zhongshan for a splash of morning tea. The hotel was grand and it’s a shame I was too busy admiring its grandness to take any photos. Grandma said the food is much more yummy at the hotel restaurant and indeed, she was right. My favorites were the beef porridge with poached egg and beef flank stir-fried rice rolls. The egg was ginormous and the beef tasted fresh, not frozen.

Afterwards, we slowly made our way across the bridge onto the Pedestrian Street. The day was lovely and we were both in the happiest of moods. I wish I can do this more often, to spend time with my grandma, to stroll along the street without the worries of job hunting and money.

At the end of the street, we said goodbye to each other. She continued walking to the bus stop while I turned around and ascended Zhongshan Park. I’ve been there once before but it was night time and I couldn’t get any clear pictures. So here I was, treading the hundreds of steps up to the park.

It felt like such great exercise until I got to the top when I was hunched over, trying to catch my breath. I can’t be this out of shape, can I?

There were lots of people in the park, elderly and youngsters, respectively. Everyone had their own little corner. Elderly turned up the music on their tiny boom box and began dancing while young couples retreated to benches in a quiet corner, heads down, staring at their phones. Are they texting one another? I wondered.

Seeing the crowd rushing up to the pagoda, I decided not to go. I’ve seen it anyway even if it’s at night. I decided to walk a loop and then back down to another entrance. I listened to my iPod as I walked and it felt great. Music made the walk easier and I felt like I’m seeing things with new eyes with music in my ears. The trees even looked greener and fuller. I can’t describe it, it just felt different.

It took me a minute to grasp where I was after I exited the park since I didn’t exit the way I entered. I pulled out the Map app on my phone, did a GPS pinpoint of my location and it was fortunate I didn’t need a GPS to direct me home.

Cee’s Which Way Photo Challenge

8 thoughts on “Which Way in Zhongshan Park

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

