#WeekendCoffeeShare: 16 Days left!


If we were having coffee, I would tell you good morning and thanks for joining me for another weekly chat. I would tell you there are 16 days before I head back out to Hong Kong, spend the night before catching an early flight home the next morning. If you ask me if I’m excited to go home. I’d say yes.

It’s been an awesome trip but let’s face it, it’s time for me to go home. Life just don’t feel complete here. For one, it’s lacking in transportation. The nearest bus stop is a 15-minute walk. Sure that’s not far but it feels very dangerous to walk down the street these days. There are mugging and then there are electric scooters that expects you to see them coming from behind. No, the sidewalk isn’t just for pedestrians.

And let’s not mention there’s no way I am going to drive a car here. The drivers here are either maniacs, idiots, or daydreamers. The maniac drivers believe they’re excellent drivers. They believe there’s no need for looking into the mirrors. They are constantly in a hurry and try to squeeze into the adjacent lane even if there’s a car parallel to them in the said adjacent lane. The daydreamers stop in the middle of an intersection even when it’s a green light while the idiots drive crazy slow.

After 4 months, I still grip the door handle tight whenever I ride in my aunt’s car.

I’m worried though, what if I forgot how to drive a car? It’s like riding a bike, right? Wait, I don’t know how to ride a bike.

Here’s another thing that’s making me feel incomplete at the moment – my favorite foods are missing.

This morning, I woke up with a sudden urge for French Toast. I’ve had other urges before but nothing like this. It was like I want it this minute kind of feeling. Thank goodness I bought nice thick slices of wheat bread, eggs, and I finally learned to turn on and off the gas. It was the best French Toast I’ve ever had. Maybe that’s me 4 months without French Toast talking.

I also miss cheese. Mmm, wonderful cheese, an ingredient with many uses – grilled cheese, mac n’ cheese, etc. There’s cheese here but no sharp cheddar (my favorite), only this white Irish cheese and it’s crazy expensive and only comes in a bite-size package.

If we were having coffee, I am telling you I mustย make my baked mac n’ cheese when I get home.

If we were having coffee, I would give you more reasons of why I am looking forward to going home:

  • Carrying a wad of $100 bills around because everything’s so expensive and none of my credit cards are accepted here. i.e. 9 eggs=$9.30 RMB, a package of 10 cakes of dry noodle=$9.90 RMB on sale, regular price=$11.80. Those things are the inexpensive things. If you get spices and sauces, it will easily cost you over $100 RMB. Although it equates to about $33 USD, if you judge by the life standards here in China, it’s quite expensive.
  • Constantly checking my purse and the items inside. The muggers here are sneaky. They can snatch a phone from someone’s jacket pocket without that person’s notice. It’s becoming a habit for me. Phone – check, purse – check, wallet – check, every few minutes.
  • Leftovers are for dogs. My aunts and uncle had been criticizing me for eating leftover rice. Hey, I eat leftovers all the time back home. What’s wrong with that?
  • My aunts don’t believe in western medicine. They believe drinking herbal tea is the solution to ailments. I take four medications and well you can imagine the criticism. I’m glad my grandma shares my view on western medicine for she doesn’t believe herbal tea is always the solution for ailments.
  • The crowds!ย I can hike in the woods without worrying about out-of-control bicyclists.

Can you see why I am looking forward to going home? One thing I will miss though is having morning tea with my cousin and grandma. I enjoy conversing with people who will not spend the conversation criticizing me and people who actually agrees with my view on things.

If we were having coffee, I would like to thank you for listening and I have enjoyed the chat and I am looking forward to another chat next week.

47 thoughts on “#WeekendCoffeeShare: 16 Days left!

  1. Almost 4 months, it seems it has gone by very quickly, but I am here and you are there – so maybe not so quickly for you? Anyway, we look forward to your return back to the states. I have enjoyed reading your posts since you have been there. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I can see why you would want to come back home, but the experience of being back over there will be something that you never forget. It’s been fun seeing all the places you’ve visited. I feel like I was right there with you myself! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: It’s coffee time, every time for me. โค – Hope Dream Wait

  4. I would miss French toast and mac and cheese too. In fact, i’m craving mac and cheese so am going to a restaurant for lunch that has it as one of their Saturday specials! Happy for you that you’re coming home! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Home is always nice after a trip. Four months is a long vacation. It was great you were able to go on this trip Mac & cheese is a favorite of mine. Now I want some French toast. My husband out in stuffed peppers and the smell is making me hungry.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You have no doubt being having a very intriguing time living with your family in Hong Kong and being from the States yourself. I read a number of experiences of people going to their parents’ homeland and feel like a fish out of water. Your Chinese heritage has such strong traditions and I could well imagine the tension re your Western medicines. I have had a few people talk to me about that but it’s too risky for me, particularly as I’m doing so well at the moment.
    Take care & best wishes,
    Rowena

    Liked by 1 person

    • It has no doubt been an intriguing experience coming back to one’s hometown after such a long time away. I makes wonder though if I should make an annual visit from now on.

      Like

  7. Wow! Four months! That is amazing. It helps that you are with family, of course. Then again, I can totally understand wanting to get away from them too ๐Ÿ˜‰
    It’s been fabulous reading about your trip!

    Liked by 1 person

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

