Share Your World – 2017 Week #11


How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are?

Based on my size and weight, I’d probably mistake myself for a 40 or a 50 year old. No, I’m not kidding. I’m 4-foot-8 with a blocked minor valve in my heart and exposed calcification in multiple parts of my body. I can’t walk far without pain in my legs and feet and I can’t hike up a mountain without clutching my chest and gasping for breath. So yeah, I probably have a 40-50-year-old body.

I think mentally, on the other hand, has not yet reached this age group yet. I think maybe late-20’s or early 30’s though I try to act more mature to impress my relatives. Sometimes, I think I’m trying too hard.

So, you’re on your way out and it’s raining. Do you know where your umbrella is or do you frantically search for it all over your apartment/house?

When I’m back home in Utah, I’ve always kept an umbrella handy whether is in the front seat of the car or in my backpack or purse, whichever I’ve brought with me that day. So I can pull an umbrella when unexpected weather situations arises.

On the other hand, in my hometown in China, umbrellas are useless. They’re just bulky objects old ladies carry around to be used as a cane and  they are also useless here because most of the time, it’s misting, not raining. It’s super annoying. One would be better off with a waterproof jacket. Unless say in some places like the Hunan province where it rains harder or you want to get revenge on someone by purposely poking them in the eye with an umbrella…

Do you recharge your energy by going out with friends for a good time or by spending with quiet time alone?

Definitely spending quiet time alone is my way to recharge my energy. Going out often exhausts me even day trips, I would find myself nodding off in the car unless I’m driving, then I’m completely alert. Otherwise, like going to tea with my grandma and cousin, afterwards I’d be exhausted.

Name three things you and your spouse, partner or best friend to have in common.

What if you don’t have any of those?

041514 sywbanner

Share Your World Challenge

Image Credit (except noted): Google

8 thoughts on “Share Your World – 2017 Week #11

  1. I’m sorry to hear that you have those physical challenges. You seem to do very well inspite of them! I had a friend that had Alzheimer’s and I asked her how old she was. She told me, “40.” (She was in her 70’s).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh I’m sorry about the pain when you walk. Haha I huff to I know what you mean about feeling your body is older. The CFS does that too. I’m always impressed how much you travel, walk, hike, and see around China and when you’re at home so really good on you. It’s admirable how much you do even with health issues. I’m god you get to see parts of the world despite. And I’m excited because I think you’ll love Alberta in the mountains when you’re here 🙂 Stay well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I often try to push myself to the limit and sometimes, I pay that with pain. I’m excited and looking forward to the trip to Canada in May too. I’m sure I’ll get to see some wonderful scenery there. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

