Which Way in the City of Phoenix (凤凰), Hunan


The City of Phoenix (凤凰) is located in the southeastern region of Hunan province. In the daytime, its streets and riverbanks are filled with merchants selling items they’d made themselves as well as other things (like selfie sticks). To be honest, there wasn’t much to see for me other than the ancient architecture and unique shops. On the other hand, if you like shopping specialty items indigenous to the region, then this is the place for you.

The other side of that stone wall is the river. Meanwhile, the shops on the right sold all kinds of things.

This narrow street reminded so much of the TV shows I used to watch when I was growing up in China. They take place in ancient China and people would walk and pull wheel-barrows through these narrow alleys. Standing in this kind of setting made my imagination go wild.

I didn’t notice this until I enlarged this picture on my computer but I wonder why the arrow is pointing down. Is the former residence in the ground? Well, at least there’s no funny translations and misspellings.

Cee’s Which Way Photo Challenge

12 thoughts on “Which Way in the City of Phoenix (凤凰), Hunan

  1. I sure am loving your photos! It’s so interesting to see another part of the world. Don’t know about the arrow pointing down…haha … but, of most importance is which way to the toilets! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really thought Feng Huang was in interesting town. I wasn’t crazy about all the people selling things, but the food and architecture was really unique. Chinese tourist signs were always good for a chuckle with arrows pointing in every direction and some strange translations.

    Liked by 1 person

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

