Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers: Song from the Heart


Wallet stolen, he dragged his suitcase out of the train station with no way of getting to his next destination. Hopelessly, he pulled his most priced possession from his guitar case – his grandfather’s handmade guitar. He glanced around, took a deep breath, and closed his eyes. “Sing from your heart,” his grandfather’s words echoed in his ears.

Slowly, he strummed his guitar.

I’m a country boy from Georgia who lives on passion and hope.
I’ve come to the big city with a purpose and goal.
But as I leave the train station, I’ve discovered I’m broke and without a home.

A crowd began to gather. Some giggled at his last line. He smiled and continued, strumming faster with more rhythm.

I’m a country boy from Georgia who raised horses and cows for a livin’
I’ve come to the big city to see if life’s worth pursuin’
But as I leave the train station, I’ve discovered oh absolutely

The crowd wooed and clapped. His guitar case began to fill with change and bills. “Thank you everybody.”

(~175 words)

I am participating in Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writer, where we write a piece between 100 and 150 words (more or less 25 words) in length inspired by the photo prompt above.ย 

14 thoughts on “Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers: Song from the Heart

    • Thanks ๐Ÿ˜€ I’ve been thinking of the prompt ever since I saw and just barely came up with the song as I was walking home. I think he won’t have trouble making a living as a country superstar.

      Liked by 1 person

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

