The Wishing Tree


I visited Foshan last Monday on the way to my cousin’s wedding. I didn’t know this before the wedding – my cousin is actually younger than me by three months. I was like what? Another person younger than me is getting married? I told my mom this the next day and she asked when will it be my turn to get married?

She wasn’t the only one. Ever since I’ve returned to China, everyone’s been asking me the same questions – are you dating? Do you have a boyfriend? I feel like asking, “why is getting married and having a husband so important?”

At the moment, my grandma is the most realistic person I know. She said, “Take your time. Have a stable life and income first and then get married.” She even gave me a jade Buddha necklace ahead of time. This necklace was supposed to be given when I walk down the aisle but instead, she’s giving it to me now so I’ll have it when the time comes.

Anyway, where was I? Oh yes, I was in Foshan last Monday where I visited the Temples as in more than one. As I mentioned in previous posts, Foshan is a city about 90-minutes from my hometown of Zhongshan thanks to a network of expressway and a car. There, in the courtyard of the temples, I saw these wishing trees. I heard about visitors paying a certain amount of money to hang their wishes on the trees. The clementines would hang with their wishes symbolizing luck. I’m not sure how much I believe in a wishing tree after so many has already used this tree. I feel like maybe it’s time for the tree to replenish its powers.

I don’t think these are wishes. I think these are more like protective wards. At the top, it read, “Hope business blooms and Safe travels“. Still though, I think it’s nice to have protective wards.

Daily Post Photo Challenge

16 thoughts on “The Wishing Tree

  1. I love the idea of a wishing tree, there’s something so magical about it and I love magical!! Yinglan listen to what’s inside you and go with your feelings, those are what matter the most. You have to live your life and live with yourself, no one else. You may be very happy and so content with yourself that you never want to marry and that would be perfectly fine, if that’s how you feel. Always honor yourself. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Wish: Accessories  | What's (in) the picture?

  3. As a Chinese girl who is not yet married, my parents are always asking me that question too. I find it so annoying and really just want to live my life as it is. We all lead different lives and each of us individually knows what is right for ourselves.

    Haha, maybe you are right in that the wishing tree needs replenishing 😀 It looks very heavy with all the wishes that are draped over it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Upstairs, Downstairs Part 1 | Say It With A Camera

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

