Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers: The Wish Granter


Half holding my breath, I lifted the gate to the storage unit. I’ve been searching for this for what seemed like a lifetime, chasing paper-trails. My grandfather died protecting this secret and now, the duty’s fallen to me. He used to tell me bedtime stories about this “dangerous object” that has the ability of making people’s wishes come true. “Don’t be fooled by the fact that it’s a baby-grand,” he used to say. “Its effects can be lethal.”

I didn’t believe it at first. I didn’t want to believe it. “It can’t be real,” I said when he took me to see the baby-grand.

“Believe me, it’s very real,” grandfather said, “and very dangerous. That’s why I’m telling you about it. I’m moving it tomorrow. People are looking for it and I need you to promise you will never reveal the object or its location to anyone.”

“But I don’t even know where you’re hiding it.” That’s when he shoved a large envelope into my hand.

“That’s all you need to know.” He was killed two weeks later.

(~178 words)

I am participating in Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writer, where we write a piece between 100 and 150 words (more or less 25 words) in length inspired by the photo prompt above. 

15 thoughts on “Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers: The Wish Granter

  1. Remind me of the so called, “Suicide Table” in Virginia City, Nevada. It’s an old saloon, Faro (card-game) gambling table supposedly responsible for the deaths of three of its owners after they were wiped out by gambling losses. The owner of the saloon that it’s in now won’t use it anymore.

    Liked by 1 person

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

