A Good Match


good-match

I took a walk on the other side of the river today. It’s the first walk I’ve had in more than a week and it felt good even though it was chilly. The other side of the river is quite different. It’s as though this is the Mr. Hyde to the other side of the river.

Not far into my walk, I encountered these two old men playing Chinese chess on a bench in the park. They seemed so concentrated in their game that I didn’t want to bother them. So I took this picture from a far. “The life of a Chinese senior citizen,” my aunt said, “They eat, they sleep, they play chess. What else are they supposed to do all day?” I laughed at that statement and she’s quite right.

I got closer and watched them for a minute but it’s been so long since I’ve played this game that I no longer knew the rules or keep up with the game. After a while, my aunt and I moved on. About thirty minutes later, we returned and found the men still at their game. They hadn’t move or even changed their poses. I was impressed by these men’s concentration. This must had been a good match.

Daily Post Photo Challenge

6 thoughts on “A Good Match

  1. Pingback: A Good Match: Ajax-Herakles | What's (in) the picture?

  2. Pingback: A Good Match: Ajax-Herakles | What's (in) the picture?

  3. Pingback: Photo of the Day! | This is Another Story

  4. Pingback: A Good Match: Desolate Fog | What's (in) the picture?

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

