Friday Fictioneers: Snowing


january-snowfall-nighttime

PHOTO PROMPT © Sarah Potter

“Mommy, it’s snowing!” Michelle rests her chin on her hands as she watches the white fluffy snow fall from the sky. 

Her mother, Tammy, wipes her hands on the towel and comes out to the living room. As she sees the snow, she stops and recalls the forecast the radio announcer gave a few hours before. “We have an incoming snow storm, folks and not just any storm. National Weather Service predicts this one will produce a foot of snow overnight.”

Tammy remembers laughing at the forecast. “Yeah right.” She’s not laughing now. “Honey, it looks like you’re staying home.”

(100 words)

Each week, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple hosts Friday Fictioneers where we’re challenged to write a piece of flash fiction in 100 words, more or less, based on the picture above.

37 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Snowing

  1. Snow days are always different for kids b/c it meets no school and adults worry. If you are like my Mom you wonder, how am I going to drive in this again (every year) and the car accidents do increase as people are not used it. Everyone forgets how to drive in snowy or icy conditions if it rarely happens or even if it happens every winter lol. Great piece 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree. Even when I was in college, I wished for snow days and then I wouldn’t have to drive down those big hills where ice could appear out of nowhere. People tend to forget to drive slowly in snowy weather and those were the ones who tend to clog up roads with accidents. Thank you for reading.

      Liked by 1 person

      • You’re are welcome. I went to a small university, snowy days when it was -30 around that Celsius, the campus was pretty empty. If I didn’t work on the campus bookstore, I would’ve stayed home. As it was I usually skipped the earliest class — to difficult to get up on those days or to catch a bus, they didn’t plow the bus routes fast enough where I lived. It also wasn’t super competitive like many US universities or larger Canadian ones so, if you missed a few classes meh. The profs did it too. You earned exactly the marks you got 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • That’s good to hear the professors didn’t keep a record of attendance. I usually try to sign up for the later classes too but when I did my second degree, all the professors wanted the classes to be done by noon. I guess there are upsides and downsides.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah it depends on your program I think. Most professors did take attendance. In some classes it was worth nothing, just they wanted to see who came to class. Others it was worth 15 percent of your mark or at least 10 percent. One prof gave us three classes and if we missed anymore you lost 2 percent of your final mark each class. For most of my classes the profs did not care, attendance was not important if you got good marks and had all your assignments in. Others you were an idiot to miss even one (in the 400 level) because you’d be so far behind. Have a great night. Aren’t you happy to be done school now, any luck with a job? Or still traveling?

        Liked by 1 person

      • I am happy to be done with school, at least I don’t have to worry about tests and homework. 🙂 I’m still traveling. I’ll be in the U.S. in April and will be traveling to Canada in May. Then it’s onto job hunting.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Good choice as well. I’m excited for you, I think you’ll love it 😍 The hot springs at Banff are a must I’m sure you’ve read about. Also the yoga/active wear store Lululemon in Banff, is one of the best locations. Lol — the most ‘important’ stop 😉Hiking, camping, river rafting, there’s lots of that of course. Have a good night I’m off to bed. 😴

        Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve been in both situations. When I lived in Texas and it snowed, schools closed for three days but in Utah, a foot of snow accumulation in 30 minutes is not a deal. People still went out and school was still in session.

      Like

  2. We’ve had only one snow day this year in New York City. And I swear that the conversation was very similar to this one–there was much joy from a small girly too happy not to have to go to school, and at the prospects of building a fort. I can hear all the joy in your character’s voice.

    Liked by 1 person

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

