#WeekendCoffeeShare: Recent outings and Juicy revelations


If we were having coffee, I will tell you after a painful week, I am finally beginning to feel better. I went to Hong Kong last weekend and my rating for the mega-metropolis is currently sitting at a score of 50 out of 100. Let’s just say, other than the yummy food, I didn’t really enjoy the city.

I don’t have anything against the city. I just didn’t like the crowds, the push and shove when I tried to stay on the crosswalk, and oh, the air. I remember when I finally arrived back to the mainland, I felt so much better. The air in Hong Kong felt suffocated, perhaps because of the cars and the traffic.

I returned with a headache and a pain in the ass, literally, and that’s what had been bothering me all week. The headache came and went but that pain. It turned out I was experiencing my first-ever case of the hemorrhoids. I immediately Googled it and discovered if it came once, it will come again. Oh no!

Meanwhile, my aunt wasn’t helpful at all. She just sat there and laughed while I endured the excruciating pain. My other aunt was slightly more helpful – although she blamed me for my poor diet – she advised my aunt to get some cream and took me to a Chinese herbalist.

The herbalist took my pulse and discovered what was wrong with me – trust me, I’m shock as you – and prescribed me to drink a mixture of herbs. It was bitter and left my tongue tasteless but it was worth it because I felt better the next day but not entirely better. I felt the pain level increased and knowing my low white blood-cell count, I knew I was at risk of an infection.

So I had my aunt go to the pharmacy and get me some over-the-counter antibiotic to fight off the infection and been feeling better since then. I hope the pain will be gone completely soon so I can get back to normal activities.

If we were having coffee, I will also tell you this trip to China has been fruitful because I have learned another revelation from my grandma and aunts (dad’s sisters). It turned out I have family in Hawaii. My great-great-grandmother (grandpa’s grandma) adopted my grandpa’s cousin when he was a child when his parents died. In Chinese culture, paternal cousins are the same as siblings. For example, my dad’s brother’s son is my brother even though we don’t have the same parents.

Anyway, not only my grandpa refused to acknowledge his cousin as a brother but he’s been ignoring him his entire life. In the 1980’s, my grand-uncle wanted to take my dad to start a new life in the U.S. Didn’t want to leave his parents behind, my dad refused. So he asked my dad’s sister but she didn’t want to leave the family either.

Isn’t this juicy?

I told my mom about it and she said, “You were destined to come to the U.S.” Once again, we’re talking about fate!

That grand-uncle remains in Hawaii with his wife and children and my grandma is willing to give me an address to go visit him. I couldn’t believe it. I have family other than my mom in the U.S.guangzhou-dorm

Finally, if we were having coffee, I would tell you about my Saturday afternoon in Guangzhou, a major city 90 minutes from my hometown of Zhongshan. The purpose for this trip was to help my cousin move back into his dorm room. He’s been back at home since mid-January for winter break and university classes would begin again on Monday.

The traffic was heavy that day and caused us to take an alternate route which was much more scarier with extremely narrow roads and a bridge that if the car was a little wider, we wouldn’t be able to make it through. In the end, the trip took a little over 2 hours and I got to photograph a gorgeous sunset.

sunset-2

11 thoughts on “#WeekendCoffeeShare: Recent outings and Juicy revelations

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

