#WeekendCoffeeShare: Obsession, Anxiety, and New Year Festivity


If we were having coffee, I would thank you for having coffee with me on a Monday. I spent part of the weekend with my family celebrating Chinese New Year with food and other festivities while spending the remaining part of the weekend reading my new favorite book, Angels and Demons. There are so much action in that book that it feels like it won’t slow down until I read the last page. I’ve seen the movie and it’s equally awesome.

If we were having coffee, I would also share a laugh with you by telling you my accident. A few nights ago, my mom asked for the second time if I could ask my aunt (dad’s sister) to give me a job at her business.ย The very job my cousin quit after two days and attempted to kill himself by the river. Yikes, no thanks. I’ve been told the reason was because my aunt emotionally abused my cousin. I’m on vacation. I don’t need this.

I heard this story from my grandma a few days ago when I invited her out for dim sum. I heard the same story from my cousin’s mother and thought to investigate the other side of it.

After my mom’s second request, I guess I got a little angry and a little anxious and stressed. I sleepwalked into the bedroom wall. I feel embarrassed for even saying it out loud. I didn’t wake up until I felt the pain and now I have a small bump above the corner of my left eye.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you I am enjoying the new year festivity in China. It’s even more festive than Thanksgiving and Christmas in the U.S. Almost every shop on my street is closed until at least through next week. The streets are quiet and the traffic is lighter than ever before as the locals spend time at home while who we call “outsiders” – people from other provinces – boarded trains home to be with family. Basically, my hometown has somewhat become a ghost town during the holiday.

Finally, if we were having coffee, I would tell you after almost a month in China, I’m feeling a little homesick. I can’t believe I’m saying this. I miss having pancakes for breakfast even if it’s frozen. I miss drowning my pancakes and waffles in syrup. I miss the sweet smell of syrup. I miss the lightning speed internet. The speed here is okay but when it comes to it, the speed is dependent on the time of day and it’s not as fast as my 75 Mbps cable internet at home. Lastly, I miss TV. I miss watching shows at its broadcast times instead of a day later.

21 thoughts on “#WeekendCoffeeShare: Obsession, Anxiety, and New Year Festivity

  1. I can relate. I suffer from them too and its often hard to find your way when they crowd your vision. Glad to see you are enjoying the festivities though. I went to China Town in London during the Chinese New Year and it was amazing!

    If you have time, check out my latest blog post at https://tootinghustle.wordpress.com/2017/04/10/is-it-mum-or-mom/ and let me know what you think. Don’t forget to comment ๐Ÿ™‚

    Happy Blogging x

    Liked by 1 person

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

