#WeekendCoffeeShare: Uneventful Week


If we were having coffee, I would first apologize for not being here last weekend. I was away on a relaxing vacation away from my current vacation. Haha, it sounds funny when I hear myself say it. I didn’t think I needed it but once I got into that hot spring pool, I knew immediately I belong there. Here are some pictures of last weekend –

If we were having coffee, I would tell you I had an uneventful week. I had spent almost my every waking minute working on my monthly translation project for my work. I hadn’t had to do a lot of translation last year and then this month, boom, it was like they knew I had graduated and on vacation. The workload tripled. This workload made me both glad and frustrated. I am glad because this will help me pay for my trip to Japan in March. I am frustrated because I am spending all my time working instead of doing other things like writing the stories I started two weeks ago as well as other writing projects I’ve started before leaving for China.

But what can I say? Travel money don’t fall from heaven and a trip to Japan won’t come cheap.

If we were having coffee, I would tell you I am excited about this weekend. This is the weekend I am going to stay home to read and write. It’s been a while since I’ve read a book or written a good long post and I feel my English is getting rusty the longer I’m in China. So can you blame me for being excited?

If we were having coffee, I would rant about the rude reception I got from my father’s side of the family. We gathered on Friday to sign some papers. When my aunts and grandma arrived and saw me sitting there, they turned their heads as if I didn’t exist. Since I arrived in China, they didn’t call me once to say “how are you” or “do you want to get together”. Isn’t it common decency for families to reunite even if the members don’t get along?

Apparently to them, there’s no such thing as reuniting with someone who you haven’t seen in 15 years. When I sat down next to my grandma, she told me she didn’t recognize me. What a load of sh**, I thought. I haven’t changed since I was 10. Even my uncle who hadn’t seen me in 15 years recognized me on the street. Then she and my aunts began suggesting how I should change my appearance. What? You don’t see me for 15 years and the first thing you say is how I should get a nose job? That’s rudeness taken to another level. I don’t need family like this. I’m not that desperate.

Finally, if we were having coffee, I would share with you some of the marvelous foods I’ve had in the last three weeks since I’ve arrived in this foodie’s paradise I call my hometown – Zhongshan, China.

13 thoughts on “#WeekendCoffeeShare: Uneventful Week

  1. if we were having coffee right now, I’d be telling you that central Minnesota is a long way from Japan and I’d be teasing you by calling you “Wrong Way Yinglan”. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aw I’m sorry Yinglan, sometimes perhaps is that the culture there? I had a good friend from university from Hong Kong and China. In university she was over weight (not much) and she had big boobs so her family — her Mom, Aunts, cousins called her fat. If she had a bid if red in her hair or something they would freak out. So I’m sorry to hear this still happens, maybe with your generation of people you can change this because it seems like it would be hurtful. Still love the hot springs πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    • Actually, no, I don’t think that’s the culture. Sure my mom’s family too calls me fat because I’m overweight but only in a playful kind of way. They don’t tell me I must change the way I look. They don’t tell me I need plastic surgery. That remains my decision and they would definitely not freak if I changed my hair color. In fact, they encourage change. They encouraged me to curl my hair just a week ago when I went to the salon. So no, I don’t believe it has anything to do with culture. I think that’s just the way some families functions.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Thanks Yinglan it’s good to know. As an outsider having never been to China, I really don’t know. I can only go from what she told me and what you say now. I think they probably thought they were encouraging her to change in a loving way, but to her it never always came across differently. She was rebellious by nature. Maybe you are right and her family life was harsher. Anyways, I’m happy your family is nice and they were just being helpful in a loving way. Enjoy your time reading and writing πŸ’•

        Liked by 2 people

      • As someone who’s lived in two countries, I can tell you other than the different holiday traditions and a few different table rules (like talking loudly), there are not much difference in the two cultures. Much of the culture is family culture rather than nationality culture.
        I will sure enjoy my time reading and writing. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 2 people

    • Yeah, I’m now on vacation, well, I still have to work but it’s not too bad. I have been and will be experiencing the full festivity of Chinese New Year this year and it’s so far chaotic and great. You wrote it absolutely right! Kung Hei Fat Choi to you too! πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Pingback: Sunday Gratitude | This is Another Story

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

