Friday Fictioneers: Torn


ceayr3

PHOTO PROMPT © C.E. Ayr

Anxiously turning the golden ring in my hand, I’m torn between ending my engagement and giving him a second chance. But he cheated, one side of me fought while the other side defended, yeah but everybody makes mistakes. 

Not this big of a mistake. 

Oh, just give him another chance. I’m sure he won’t do it again. 

I gazed down at the ring and frowned. He said it was the most expensive thing he’d ever given anyone. What if he’s lying? I shook my head, can’t take any chances, I thought and flung the ring at the train tracks.

(100 words)

Each week, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple hosts Friday Fictioneers where we’re challenged to write a piece of flash fiction in 100 words, more or less, based on the picture above.

14 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Torn

  1. Swiftly moves through the story, and I enjoy the dialogue. I’d suggest that you’re telling me too much in this piece, it somewhat makes the story feel a bit forced. I want to be able to feel the essence of this story, how distressed she is, without you specifically telling me how distressed she is.

    You only have a 100 words, which is of course, quite tricky, but you’ve done a decent job here. In future perhaps cut down on the direct statements, or dialogue, like “everyone makes mistakes.” It’s a bit of cliche and detracts from the otherwise solid writing.

    Good luck.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the advice. I was trying to show the good and bad side battle each other in this story and I sometimes find that part difficult to write it out. I’ll work on it.

      Like

  2. Always a hard situation, many, many of us can relate to. I always think of the saying: fool me once shame on you, fool me twice shame on me . It doesn’t mean we don’t forgive and give second chances, it just means if we do, we know cheating is a strong possibility again and it’s not just on the other person this time around. I don’t know how that works at logic, it’s tough . . .

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree, it is a tough situation. I remember going through it with my step-father a few times. I always forgave and he went and took advantage. Sometimes saying no and walking away is the hardest part.

      Liked by 1 person

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

