Week 1 in China


My first week in China wasn’t without thrills and problems but it was interesting. The first few nights, I barely slept due to the 15-hour time difference. Basically, I’m wide awake when everyone is sleeping while exhausted when everyone is awake. I didn’t have this problem the last time I visited China, so that might mean I’m getting old.

There were plenty of other adjustments which I overlooked before the trip. In China, unless you have a newer apartment, you are still using the Chinese-style toilets. I hate that since I can squat ever since my knee surgery in 2013. Thank goodness my aunt has a western toilet though it sucks that most of the public restrooms are still the squatting toilets. I try to avoid those restrooms.

Other minor adjustments include:

  • Carrying a pack of tissues with me at all times since restaurants don’t supply napkins and toilet paper to its customers
  • Water must be boiled before drinking. After so many years of drinking cold water, this was tough.
  • Constant gloomy and hazy skies due to smog.
  • Crazy moronic drivers who yield for no one
  • Traffic, loud honking, music blaring from stores outside my bedroom from morning to night
  • Of course, the warm humid weather. It’s been in the 70-80 F range since I arrived. In a way, this weather is better than the frozen tundra I call Utah.

My hometown is no longer recognizable from when I left 15 years ago which means I have no idea where I’ve gone in the past week. In a way though, it’s more alive. Every spot of every street is lined with shops and restaurants while high-rise apartments stood tall in the back. I think that’s why I don’t recognize it.

My aunts tried to jog my memory by taking me to places I went as a child and unfortunately, it’s not working. Maybe those places are memorable enough in my mind.  Here are some pictures of the places I visited.

Oh, and let’s don’t forget to mention of all the excellent food I had. Chinese food has evolved since I left my hometown 15 years ago. Some of the food I had was quite different than the food I had in the U.S. In a way, the food here felt like it’s meant to be looked at instead of eaten. However, it is good.

I hope you enjoyed the summary of my first week in China. I will be posting more later in the week. Stay tune.

28 thoughts on “Week 1 in China

  1. Hi Yinglan! Your posts are so interesting! I especially like your diary section.

    I have one question. If it’s not a secret, what theme have you chosen for your blog? What’s it called? I tried to look for it, but couldn’t find it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It sounds like you are having a fun adventure. Do you like that things have changed so much, or do you long for it to be like you remember it being as a young child?

    I agree with the food seeming like it was meant to be looked at instead of eating. Those are some pretty dishes, especially the steamed vegetables.

    Have a beautiful weekend. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      • I understand that feeling. I think, if I ever get to go back home to South Carolina, I’m not going to be able to find my way around. The area where I grew up, like yours, has grown significantly in the nearly 12 years that we’ve been gone. It is kind of an upsetting thought to get lost in a town where I spent the first 39 years of my life.

        Thank you. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

