#WeekendCoffeeShare: Journey across the ocean


If we were sharing coffee, I would like to apologize, I’m afraid I don’t have coffee. All I have is hot cocoa. 

If we were sharing hot cocoa, I would tell you this is my first weekend in China and it’s so far so good. I would tell you about my almost-24-hour journey from the frozen tundra of Salt Lake City to the spring-like weather of Zhongshan, China.

The plane ride was uneventful. I ate, slept, did word search and Sudoku, and watched movies along the way – pretty typically things to do on a 14-hour plane ride. I would also tell you that I completed one of the items on my long-term bucket list – to watch To Kill a Mockingbird. I wanted to see this movie ever since I read the book and I got to watch it on the plane. How about that for killing two birds with one stone? Fulfilling bucket list while killing time on a plane ride?

If we were sharing hot cocoa, I would also share with you some of the pictures I took of the journey.

If we were sharing hot cocoa, I would tell you I am feeling quite disorientated at the moment. I feel disorientated because of the time difference and the language barrier. I know what you’re going to say. I’m from here, how can there be a language barrier? The thing is, I’ve been in the U.S. for so long that I’ve begun to think only in English and now that I’m in China, I must translate my thoughts into Chinese before spilling words from my mouth.

Sometimes, that’s a difficult task especially when you have to communicate purely in Chinese, not a mixture of Chinese and English. I remember catching myself the first night as I was going through immigration. The Chinese immigration official asked me a question and I was about to answer with English. Thank goodness I caught myself.

This will take a little adjusting. Another reason I feel disorientated is because I’m having a tough time understanding people. It seems like the Chinese language has evolved over the years. Many new words and usage of existing words have come out and I’m still stuck in the early 2000’s.

The first night was the worst. I found myself confused because I felt like the announcer was saying everything too fast and in a way that it was hard for me to understand. I found myself scratching my head, trying to analyze what I’ve just heard. This feels like I’ve been thrown to another universe with unfamiliar roads and languages.

Lastly, if we were sharing hot cocoa, I would rant that WordPress has been very and weird and silly. Yesterday, I scheduled a flash fiction piece but a non-existent post kept showing up in the reader in place of that post. So I bet my readers were super confused and so was I. In case you didn’t catch the flash fiction, here is the link of the post I meant to publish.

16 thoughts on “#WeekendCoffeeShare: Journey across the ocean

  1. I can imagine how confusing it would be to be in a country that you’re not familiar with anymore, especially the language. By the time you leave you will probably be very proficient in the language again. Glad you had a safe journey!

    Liked by 1 person

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

