Cee’s Black & White Photo Challenge – Made by Human Beings


wp-1481258450319.jpeg

The Utah State Capitol recently celebrated 100th year since its completion in 1916. From what I read on the construction of the building, it was originally constructed with fairly basic tools and mostly people labor. During the tour with my concrete design class a few years ago, I remember the instructor telling the class he was part of the engineering crew for the restoration project between 2004 and 2008, he told us of how the building was falling apart and how some of the concrete was as weak as chalk. Not good at all.

Now, the restoration projects had long been completed and the building has been fortified to withstand a powerful quake, the building will stand high and mighty for a long time. I took this picture at sunset last Friday. The temperature was beyond freezing as my aunt and I watched the sun as it sank behind the mountains. “Do they not decorate the capitol with lights during the holiday?” My aunt asked, staring at the capitol.

I laughed. She thought the building would light up like most of the downtown building. I don’t think anyone has the time to string lights around the capitol.

Cee’s Black & White Photo Challenge

10 thoughts on “Cee’s Black & White Photo Challenge – Made by Human Beings

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

