Cee’s Black & White Photo Challenge – Rocks


I have been wondering when I will get the chance to showcase some of the rock pictures I took on my last solo hiking expedition. However, black and white rocks make boring pictures, so I opted for the selective colors approach. Hope you like my choices.

rocks

These pictures were taken at almost the turning point of my hike, especially the picture above. I had just climbed up some rocks when I noticed the trail had somehow disappeared. Heart-pounding, I looked down and shook my head. I wasn’t going to pursue that route and so after downing a few jerky and some protein as well as snapping a picture of the rock next to me, I slowly made my way back down the rocks.

rocks-1

To be honest, I don’t remember at what point I took this picture but it sure took me a while to do the selective colors. I did the coloring in Photoshop ever since I found out I can make the file size of the images smaller by saving it to web. Before, I was using Pixlr and the file size were typically in the 300-400 KB range but with Photoshop, the size becomes 150-250 KB. It may not be a lot but when you only get 3 GB of storage on WordPress, you’ll use whatever technique to conserve.
rocks-2

Finally, these rocks remind me a little of the result when two tectonic layers collide with one another or when an earthquake happens and a giant rock splits.

Cee’s Black & White Photo Challenge

6 thoughts on “Cee’s Black & White Photo Challenge – Rocks

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

