Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers: Rule Breakers


photo-20161009092947512

Desperately, I broke the glass with my elbow. Supporting his weight, I reached in and opened the door. “You’ll be all right.” I said as I helped him settle into the chair. “I’ll go see what I can find.”

At the entrance of the small alley style kitchen, I discovered a shelf on my left. “Perfect,” I gasped, reaching the top for the baking soda. The box toppled and fell on the ground. It sounded surprising hallow. I peeked inside, it was empty. I tried another box, it was empty as well. After several tries, I staggered back, brushing a few loose strands of hair back. Unbelievable, everything is empty. This is all fake, even the bottle of whiskey. 

Then a realization hit me, they were expecting this, weren’t they? I hurried back to him and found him slumped on the table. “I’m sorry,” I sobbed, helping him upright again. “There’s nothing here.”

A smile appeared across his face, hand pressed tight against his wound, “At least I got you to break a rule.”

(~175 words)

I am participating in Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writer, where we write a piece between 100 and 150 words (more or less 25 words) in length inspired by the photo prompt above. 

9 thoughts on “Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers: Rule Breakers

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

