Share Your World – 2016 Week #40


Why did you start blogging?

I started blogging because I wanted to share my stories with a bigger audience. I tried writing.com, Wattpad, and two other websites for writers but I couldn’t draw any audience to my stories.

I started out writing essays on WordPress. I didn’t write any fictions or post any photographs. I just wrote about my daily observations in 500-700 words. I called my blog, “The Random Blog” back then. My audience were dismal but I was glad to have those one or two people read what I write.

A piece of clothing you still remember?halloween-hero-1-h

A piece of clothing that will forever burn in my mind is the super-tight Cinderella costume I wore for my first Halloween. My first Halloween was when I was ten and apparently, Halloween is a holiday that kids dress in weird costumes and go door-to-door to get candies. This holiday was very important to my step-dad.

That afternoon, we searched all over town for a costume that fit me. We lived in a bad neighborhood in the suburbs of Los Angeles back then and only K-mart existed. When we stepped into the costume section in K-mart, it was a mess. Costumes were scattered all over the floor and the racks were empty. It looked like the place had been robbed.

We left without buying anything. I wasn’t going to wear a costume with a dozen footprints on it. After driving around town, we finally found a small store in a corner next to the freeway bridge and in it was where we found the Cinderella dress with a fuzzy tiara. It was super tight around the abdomen area like there’s a corset strapped around my stomach. “Is it comfortable?” My step-dad asked. I lied and nodded. It’s only for one night, I told myself, make him happy. That was my first and last trick-or-treat.

Who are you trying to reach with your blog?

I’m not sure exactly. I suppose people – sponsors, agents, people who are interested in wanting me to write a post, and others who simply like reading what I write.

dscf0113Is there a stuffed animal in your bedroom?

Not in my bedroom but there are two stuffed toys in the living room. Actually, I wouldn’t call them stuffed toys. The sheep has two velcro straps on its belly and when it’s opened, it reveals a blanket. Same goes for the other stuffed toy, a girl’s head.

The best birthday present ever?

What could be better than money?

What would surprise me about you?

I’m a control freak. It makes me anxious and angry when someone tries to control an aspect of my life. I sometimes can also be controlling when I have my grades on the line.

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Last week, I’m grateful I got through my biopsies. It’s not easy to stay still while someone is stick a needle into your needle. So far, I don’t have any infections from my wounds and hopefully, I can keep it that way until I get my stitches removed on Thursday. My aunt is arriving next Monday, I’m excited about that. I’m also looking forward to find out the full result from my biopsies on Thursday. My doctor already called me to tell me my skins were tested positive for a rare form of lupus, one that is triggered by sunlight. So now, I’m curious. Am I to avoid sunlight from now on?

041514 sywbanner

Share Your World Challenge

Image Credit (except noted): Google

10 thoughts on “Share Your World – 2016 Week #40

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

