Share Your World – 2016 Week #38


Are you a hugger or a non-hugger?

Well, both. Let’s just say I am a picky hugger. I like to hug short people, someone I can actually put my arms over the shoulder. So I can’t hug tall people which can practically include a majority of the Earth’s population since I’m only 4-foot-8-inches (about 143 cm) tall.

What is your least favorite Candy?ginger-candy-1362107131

There are two types of candies I don’t like: spicy and chocolate with nuts.

My mom bought a bag of ginger candy (shown above) from Chinatown a few months ago. One night before I went to school, she encouraged me to have one to stave off the hunger. “Is it spicy?” I asked her. “No,” she assured me. I trusted her and popped it into my mouth. It wasn’t too bad at first. Kind of sweet.

Half-way to school, I bit into the candy and oh my gosh, it was like a fireball exploded in my mouth. I could feel smoke coming out of my ears as I tried to drive with this spiciness in my mouth. There was no water around. So for the remaining drive, my tongue hung out like a dog while I used my right hand to fan my tongue. I bet the drivers in the cars beside me were giving me funny looks.

What’s the first thing that comes to mind when you hear the word “fun”?5803724968_7e8a93b165_z_large

Hmm, amusement parks? County fairs? Roller coasters?

I saw a lot of my fellow bloggers put photography and writing as fun. To me, those are relaxation tools or maybe I just haven’t ridden a roller coaster for a long time. My last trip to an amusement park was my 8th grade field trip to Disneyland.

List of Favorite Smells: What smells do you love? Whether it’s vanilla scented candles or the smell of coffee in the morning or the smell of a fresh spring rain…make a list of all the things you love for a little aromatherapy.breakfast

I love the smell of fresh damp air after a rainstorm. I love the smell of the forest. I love the smell of breakfast – eggs, oily sausages, bacon, hash browns, mmm. Finally, I love the smell of noodle soup. It reminds me of the large bowls I used to have when I was a child.

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I celebrated my lunar birthday last weekend. My mom bought me roast duck and we split a moon cake for dessert. It was a lazy day after I finished a paper for school. Oh, and I got a red envelope from my aunt in China. I’m not sure what we’ll do this weekend to celebrate my Gregorian calendar birthday.

I am also looking forward of getting a detailed diagnosis from my family doctor. I got a second opinion from my endocrinologist and apparently, I have Hashimoto along with Graves disease all along and my endocrinologist didn’t bother to tell me. Apparently, there’s a policy with doctors now. Don’t ask, don’t tell.

Great, this is getting me curious again. I guess we’ll see and I’ll update after my appointment.

041514 sywbanner

Share Your World Challenge

Image Credit (except noted): Google

13 thoughts on “Share Your World – 2016 Week #38

  1. Happy Lunar Birthday! I love the smell of breakfast foods as well. The smell after it rains as well is wonderful. Fresh bread too like in a bakery mmmm…

    Doctors anywhere can be bad about giving a diagnosis. They are very careful with it and often, don’t act as fast as they should. Sorry you have Hashimoto and Graves’ disease. They don’t sound fun. At least i guess, you finally know. 🙏🏻💗

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. 🙂 The smell of fresh bread is nice too.
      Unfortunately, knowing that diagnosis means I’ll be on medication for the rest of my life because there’s no cure for those diseases. And doctors still can’t diagnose my current face condition since they have now concluded that it’s not rosacea. They will have to do a biopsy.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I can relate. When I became ill years ago, I knew I’d be on medications the rest of my life. I just hope they get better throughout my life. Although trying new meds is no fun. I hope they make you feel better without any bad side affects. You get used to taking them. Frankly, many people take meds for things we don’t even realize.

        Is your Doctor for your face a dermatologist? I’d go see them about your skin. They’re trained for skin issues.

        Best of luck. You’re in my prayers my friend. I haven’t forgotten about your books and finishing proofing the one I’m on at least. I will try in October if that’s okay. Things have been a bit stressful.

        Hugs

        Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you.
        I’m currently seeing multiple doctors: family, endocrinologist, dermatologist, and soon, a rheumatologist. I do hope the meds works without any side effects. My endocrinologist has me trying birth control pills for PCOS and the side effects are not nice. My stomach’s been cramping for the last week.
        Take your time on the proofing. I know we all have busy lives. 🙂

        Like

  2. Happy Birthday Yinglan! It’s very nice that you get to celebrate two birthdays each year! 🙂 I enjoyed reading your answers on this post. Smelling breakfast being cooked in the morning is a wonderful smell!

    Like

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

