Piano Progress #4


It’s been a long while since I have updated on my piano progress. Almost three months, wow?!

For new readers: I bought my former boss’s antique (1980’s) keyboard for 60-dollars in May and had been playing piano again. I took a year of piano when I was a Sophomore in high school (about 10 years ago) and that was it. No other courses. Since May, I have been refreshing myself on my piano playing with the help of my old piano book and YouTube. This is what these posts are all about – my progress.

If you want to catch up on my previous progress, the bullet list below contains the links:

So I stopped playing the keyboard a little after my last update because of my health. I was constantly weak and tired. At times, I was having trouble lifting my hands and I often can’t get through 30 minutes without yawning and falling asleep.

I didn’t resume playing until after the school semester had begun again in late August and it was then I promised myself to play at least an hour each day, no matter how tired I was. I cannot take so many naps. I was also adamant to re-learn The Entertainer. I’ve been promising myself to relearn that song ever since I got the keyboard. I knew the song inside and out 10 years ago. In fact, I used to stare at the wall when I played.

The re-learning process has proven difficult. I had to start from the first note, played it a dozen times until I could play it without looking at the key and then move on to the next. I did this for just about every note for that song and after 15 days, I finally mastered it. My playing is a little rough compared to professional but I’m not striving to be professional. I’m just striving for my best. Anyway, here it is:

I know I posted Amazing Grace in my last update but since then, I discovered I have been playing some parts wrong. After watching a few YouTube tutorial on how to play it, I corrected myself and re-posted this version.

Finally, I want to share this folk song, Raisins and Almonds. Personally, I have never heard it but after playing it, I have come to enjoy it. I learned this song in June. I should’ve recorded it then but I decided not to for some reason. Anyway, here it is:

I believe it will be a long while until I update on my piano progress again. I’m upgrading myself from level 1 to level 2. Yay! I’m currently waiting for the book to arrive and hopefully the next song I post on my SoundCloud will be Canon in D.

24 thoughts on “Piano Progress #4

  1. By a curious coincidence I picked up my Tenor Sax today for probably the first time since Xmas. Boy do I need to get my chops back and I really need to learn how to breath again… that sounds weirder then it actually is

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m impressed — especially since you’re playing unaccompanied, and after only a few months. Really good timing, too… you seem to have a good sense of rhythm. I’ll only play publicly along with others in a group. Tends to hide my mistakes and lack of finger-span on the guitar.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really enjoyed listening to you play! You got a nice compliment, too. I was listening while my husband was in another room. He comes back in and says where’s that music coming from? I tell him it’s my blogging friend playing the piano. He said he thought it was on the TV, it was so good! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

