Friday Fictioneers: Sewing Opportunity


PHOTO PROMPT © Sandra Crook

PHOTO PROMPT © Sandra Crook

Please note – this is non-fiction!

This sewing machine reminds me of the one in my grandma’s room in China. I’ve only seen her use it once and I remember feeling curious. It looked fun the way she’d turned the wheel and operated the pedal as the needle bobbed rhythmically and stitches appeared on the fabric like magic. Of course, I wanted to learn but she wouldn’t teach me. Something about me being clumsy.

Stubborn as always, I took a chance in 10th grade and signed up for Home Economics, seizing the opportunity to learn to sew on a modern sewing machine with a built-in computer.

(100 words)

Each week, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple hosts Friday Fictioneers where we’re challenged to write a piece of flash fiction in 100 words, more or less, based on the picture above.

18 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Sewing Opportunity

  1. Neat story Yinglan. My Aunt Josie had a similar machine. And my Mom sewed her clothes growing up, her and her sister I think. They learned in home economics as well. My Mom was good and her family didn’t have much money growing up. So fabric was cheaper and you could make a dress, suit, bathing suit etc to fit you perfectly. She even sewed for my brothers and I when we were in grade one and two, before she worked about half-time.

    Thanks for sharing your memories.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks. That’s cool. Your family must had very unique fashion. Everything you wear would had been one-of-a-kind. It must had been nice too, having clothes that fit perfectly. There’s always some part that didn’t fit quite right with the clothes from the store.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Kudos to you for not giving up. My mother sewed all my clothes when I was a kid and I hated it. There were no kids patterns around at the time, and the dresses she made were for ladies. The other kids laughed, they had the fancy brand names clothes… Much later I laughed about it and learned to sew. I’m not very good, but I can do stuff if I have to. We didn’t have home economics at school.

    Liked by 1 person

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

