Forest Like I’ve Never Seen It


wp-1471796584805.jpeg

After spending the last two weeks researching which hiking trail I should attempt during my mom’s three-day absence, I finally decided to hike the Coldwater Canyon/Indian Trail on Saturday, August 20, 2016. I am stating the specific date here so readers reading this post months later won’t be mistaken on the date I hiked this trail. It is also for my benefit.

Growing up in the city and suburbs, the natural world is a rarity and one often have to drive some time to get back to nature. One of my dream has been that I want to see the great natural world, to embrace nature, to see the wild with my own eyes and not through a screen.

So after spending every minute of my free time googling on hiking trails near me and after reading reviews on almost every single trail, I became convinced I must hike this trail. Going in, I didn’t expect much other than it should be better than the Adam’s Canyon which was the first and only other trail I’ve hiked. Also, I didn’t expect to have lush green trees since it’s summer and we have a drought this year. I certainly didn’t expect to find the woods.

wp-1471796422445.jpeg

Can I tell you a secret? I have never been inside a forest. I mean in a car, yes, but walking among the trees, no. When you travel through a forest by car, you’re always on the outside looking in. You’re never among the trees and you certainly can’t hear the insects as loud as when you’re walking among them.

Walking this trail was like going back in time, back before the first car was built, back to the days before cell phones were invented, even back before cities existed. It was like going back to the prehistoric times. It’s so quiet that the loudest sounds were the breeze and the buzzing of insect activity. The buzzing of the bees was louder than my breath.

Indian Trail

The trees here are giant, impressive, and messy. Branches grew wherever they wanted and no one’s there to trim it. That’s nature for ya.

Although most of the time, I kept my head down to focus on where I was stepping and not slipping on rocks, once in a while, I’d look up and admire at the enormousness of the spruce trees.

wp-1471796206081.jpeg

I can stare at this view forever. There’s not a building in sight and no noise. It’s just mountains, trees, me, and the world inside my head. It would be so nice if I can experience this view on a daily basis or on a weekly basis.

Coldwater Canyon

Finally, this is my favorite picture of them all. This picture has instantaneously become the cover photo for my Facebook and twitter page and it will soon become the wall paper for my laptops. I just adore the green color all over this picture and best of all, I can barely see the sky which is actually what I’ve been dreaming to see for a long time.

Daily Post Photo Challenge – Rare

39 thoughts on “Forest Like I’ve Never Seen It

  1. Some excellent photos. I also like the last shot, the light streaming through the leaves is always a special effect in a forest. If you’d like to stop by my blog, you’ll see lots of shots of the forests of Michigan. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Rare | stenoodie

  3. How wonderful! I am so glad that you were able to have this experience, Yinglan. I grew up in the woods and it was the best. I would love to live in them again, but I’m stuck living in town for now. All of your photos are great, but I especially love the perspective of the last one. Just beautiful. πŸ™‚
    Have a blessed evening!

    Liked by 1 person

      • You’re welcome. πŸ™‚
        With most other towns, I would agree with you. But, this small town has the same troubles as a city, just fewer people. The crime rate here is worse than in the big city of Houston, which is about 60 miles away. It could be a great small town if it weren’t for all the drug dealers and such. I guess not everywhere can be Mayberry. πŸ™‚
        Have a beautiful evening.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow simply gorgeous! There’s nothing equal to spending time in nature. I love how you say it was like prehistoric times. Your photos are beautiful, I love how you can see the blue of the sky through the trees in your favorite photo. The second photo is stunning, what an impressive view. I’d say you made a great choose in which trail to hike!! Thanks for sharing! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. I think this was a great choice too. After this hike, I think I’ll always stick with national forest. The difference is so apparent when the trail is not in a national forest. And absolutely, there’s nothing equal to spending time in nature. πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. Pingback: Top Posts of 2016 | This is Another Story

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

