Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers: Take Charge


DSCF0015

“I’m open! I’m open!” Toby shouted, thirty yards away but everyone ignored him. This always happens. Cody, Will, and the guys would huddle among themselves, leaving Toby out of their secretive conversations. Then every time he approached, their conversations would instantaneously seize and Toby would get the stink eye.

It’s not fair, he thought. They’re not accepting me because I’m a year younger. Just because I’m young doesn’t mean I don’t know how to take charge.

It was time for him to take charge. Toby stopped waving. He pumped up his chest and approached the group. “Hey!” He spoke loudly. The boys turned. “Do you want to win or not? Because I certainly do. If you don’t want to be here, then leave.”

Will, captain of the team and a head taller than Toby, stood before him and stared down at him with pursed lips. Normally, Toby would be scared that he’d peed his pants but that day, he wasn’t. He stared up at Will with determined eyes. Seconds later, Will backed away. “Yeah, I’ll play.”

(~175 words)

There is absolutely no explanation for this picture, just an odd ball photograph I took at the park. Hope it’s inspiring and hope it will generate plenty of stories! Thank you for choosing my picture for this week’s prompt!

I am participating in Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writer, where we write a piece between 100 and 150 words (more or less 25 words) in length inspired by the photo prompt above. 

24 thoughts on “Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers: Take Charge

  1. Pingback: Soccer Ball – Doodles and Scribbles

  2. Pingback: FFfAW: Sidelines | The Storyteller's Abode

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

