Why is Quitting so Hard?


DifferentWaysToQuitYourJobFull“I’m quitting.” How hard was that to say? So why is my heart beating a mile a minute when I still have four months before I have to say those dreadful words?

I’m talking about quitting my bookkeeping job. I have decided to quit at the end of this year after pondering about whether I can handle it taking the job with me when I go back to China. The answer is no, I don’t think I can handle it.

After working with someone for more than a year, you’d get to know that someone. In my case, I got to know my boss. I know that he’s someone who puts customers first as well as someone who doesn’t really have conception of time. I had instances when he texted me at midnight but those were rare occasions. However when I go back to China, I would be 15 hours ahead and that would mean it could be midnight where I am and it’s daytime here. I definitely will not be happy to have a phone call to wake me at 3 am.

Also, I won’t be back until after the tax busy season and my boss’s accountant will no doubt require my assistance to explain the income and expenses line-by-line. Early this year, I sat through 3 hours doing that. I am not doing that again in the wee hours in the morning.

So I’ve decided to quit and I feel this is a crisis because I don’t know if you know, outside these blogging walls, I have zilch people skill. I’m often thinking too hard and being too frank. I can’t help it.

However, in my past jobs, I never had to tell my boss I’m leaving. I simply just left at the end of the semester or my boss simply just moved away. And in all the TV shows I’ve watched, people tend to resign quietly by placing a letter on their boss’s desk. Well, I can’t do that since my boss doesn’t have a desk.

How do I tell him? What should I tell him? Should I help him to look and train for a replacement? Why does this little thing has to be so hard?

14 thoughts on “Why is Quitting so Hard?

  1. I’ve given my past jobs a two weeks’ notice and then I got burned. Depending on how you think he’ll react, I say just give them a week notice but prepare to leave that day. I’m glad you are taking the steps to move on. It sucks being in a job you hate. I’m trying to quit my job right now, but I need to find another one first. Soon, I’m hoping I won’t have to live this way anymore.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Two weeks notice seems kind of short for me since I may have to help hire and train my successor otherwise, the company might tank without me. I may give it a month. Yeah, it sucks working a job one hate. I’m glad I don’t have to look for a backup just then since quitting this one would leave me with the translator job. I wish you the best of luck in finding a new job so you can quit the one you have now. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s customary here in the US to give 2 weeks notice. He may ask you to train someone else during those two weeks. You can also go to him, for instance, a month in advance and give him a month’s notice if you think he will want you to train someone. It’s entirely up to you. But I would give, at the very least, two weeks notice.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m not sure two weeks will be adequate since I do a lot of things there and so far, no matter how many times I tell my boss and colleagues how to read the inventory names, they still can’t get it. So I have no doubt it will be hard to train a new employee and no doubt I have to be the one to train him/her.

      Liked by 1 person

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

