Friday Fictioneers: Awake


arena

Inspired by something I wrote once upon a time…

I woke with a start as water rushed up to my knees, wetting my jeans. How did I get here? I wondered as I glanced up to see the stadium light up in the distance. That’s how I know I’m not on the mainland anymore but on one of the adjacent islands. I spent a moment, attempting to remember what happened but somehow I couldn’t. It wasn’t like me to forget.

Thoughts of mom and dad suddenly came to me. I must get home. They must be worried sick about me. You can do this, I thought and began to run.

(101 words)

Each week, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple hosts Friday Fictioneers where we’re challenged to write a piece of flash fiction in 100 words, more or less, based on the picture above.

15 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Awake

  1. I admire you for being able to write stories with the limitation on the number of words. That would be so hard for me. I can take a thought and expand it into pages and pages… but to condense it into 100 words???… that would be almost impossible. Well done Yinglan…

    Galen

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, this story was inspired by one of the many novel ideas I’d thought of in the past. Actually, I wrote about 5,000 words with this idea last year but then for some reason, I stopped and it’s now sitting in my draft folder. I guess I should pick it up again.

      Like

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

