Flash Fiction For the Purposeful Practitioner: Smart and Stupid


lantern

“Where’s the shovel?” Sebastian asked but before I could speak, he chided on. “Didn’t you bring the shovel? How’s one supposed to bury a body with only one shovel?” My mouth opened, “Oh, I see. . You’re expecting me to do all the work, aren’t you?”

Before Sebastian could open his fat mouth again, I cut in. “Brother, if you’ll just shut up and listen for a second. I couldn’t get the shovel. They were coming and you know I’d die if I faced them.”

“Then why’d you bring the kerosene lamp and the brush? Fire and wood, that’s worse!” Bash spat. “You were never that bright, were you? Even as a human and now, as a vampire, you’re even more stupid. So tell me, brother, did the stupidity amplified somehow?”

I balled my fists, full of anger ready to explode. “You say one more word…”

Bash laughed, “You’ll what? In case you forget, I’m the smarter brother.”

In a flash, I found my fist in his chest around his heart. He groaned. “You’re right. I am stupid, stupid for sticking ’round here, cleaning up your mess. I should kill you right now but that would be too painless for you.” I grinned. “So I’m gonna let them do it.” I pulled my hand out and whistled. Tens of men armed with wooden stakes and bullets fell from the trees and before they could get to me, I was already zooming through the woods.

This is a response for Roger Shipp’s new flash fiction challenge, Flash Fiction For the Purposeful Practitioner. We are given the beginning of the sentence and we are to finish the story.

24 thoughts on “Flash Fiction For the Purposeful Practitioner: Smart and Stupid

  1. Gotta catch up with your blog posts I’ve missed the past few days. This one is another great one. It leaves enough to the imagination to keep one thinking about different motives and outcomes. Another winner!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Do you watch Vampire Diaries? They are on Friday nights where I live. Your story gave me the same idea I get sometimes with Steohan and Damon, the two vampire brothers on the show. Albeit, I don’t think either one of them were evil enough to let their own brother be surrounded and staked by a mob of men. But if the brother is powerful enough, perhaps, he’ll survive. Great job Yinglan.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m more or less a fan of that show. I read all the books and watched every episode. *blush* I kinda had that in mind when I wrote the story but I wanted to make it my own. Thanks for reading.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Haha. I love it too! I did read the books as well. They are so much different then the show. The show is way better. And I was looking at something else you wrote saying you liked YA books. Me too. I did read many LJ Smith books in junior high and high school 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh awesome. I haven’t read all of them but there are some very good ones. I think my fav was about these people who had psychic abilities. Rob and Gabrielle were the two guys in it fighting over a girl Cayla or Kaityln, not sure but it was my fav one 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

