Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers: That Day


photo-20160502054404966

It was 1975. Thomas and I have been on the run for the last 20 years and at last, our enemies were destroyed, leaving us with all the freedom we craved. Our lives could finally slow down. We could finally settle down, have a family, and visit all the place we dreamed of. The elixir we shared had kept us as young as the day we drank it, eighteen and would forever keep us that way.

“Let’s go to the beach.” I suggested that day. “Come on, I’ve never been to the beach and it’s a beautiful day.”

Thomas smiled and kissed my forehead, “All right, sweetheart, anything you want.”

We strolled along the sandy shore until we found a secluded spot. Thomas laid down a blanket and together, we sat down and began setting up our picnic. Just as I was about to help myself to a second serving, Thomas tensed. “Thomas, are you okay?” I rubbed his arm. He didn’t reply, instead, he pushed me to the ground. He grunted. “Thomas?” I couldn’t believe it. “Thomas!”

(~175 words)

I am participating in Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writer, where we write a piece between 100 and 150 words (more or less 25 words) in length inspired by the photo prompt above. 

17 thoughts on “Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers: That Day

    • I bet, I didn’t have enough words to finish it. I was going to write about how there’s a bullet hole in Thomas’s back. Someone had shot him with a silencer.

      Like

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

