Flash Fiction For the Purposeful Practitioner: Manic Driver


car

“I’m sure that the little girl in that back seat was signing us.” Molly said.

Dave snickered, “Ah, yeah? What’s she saying?”

Molly squinted, “She’s saying…you drive like a maniac!” She turned to Dave, “What’s the matter with you! You’re way too close.” She hit him on the arm and his foot loosened on the gas pedal.

“Hey! I’m sorry but I’m driving on the wrong side of everything here. It feels very weird and disorientating. You should be grateful that I’m such an awesome driver. No accident, no tickets.” Molly was grateful, in a way, but in other ways, she had not. Dave has always been a manic driver. Back in the U.S., Dave would snake around the freeway in his tiny two-door car, change lane the second the car in front of him slowed a tick on the speedometer. Weirdly enough, Dave had never gotten a ticket or accident.

“Oh come on!” Dave suddenly shouted.

“What?!” Molly did too, her hand flew to the handlebar above her. Dave didn’t reply. Instead, he sped up, turned on his blinker and went into the lane beside them. He didn’t go back to the left lane until they passed the blue and gray cars in front of them. “Dave! You’re gonna get us killed!”

This is a response for Roger Shipp’s new flash fiction challenge, Flash Fiction For the Purposeful Practitioner. We are given the beginning of the sentence and we are to finish the story.

8 thoughts on “Flash Fiction For the Purposeful Practitioner: Manic Driver

  1. Since I have never driven a right-hand-drive vehicle.. and have spent my entire driving experience on the left side of the road (passing and multi lanes excepted)… I would certainly feel that I was driving “…on the wrong side of everything”! I don’t think I would have reacted the way Dave did… but then again… I have been known to do some dumb things when I’m behind the wheel.

    Thanks Yinglan for another interesting trip.

    Galen

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This makes me think of all the crazy drivers here in Cairo. I’ve been in many a taxi where the drivers drove as if they really wanted to kill all of us. I’ve never wanted my own car more in my life 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

