Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers: Mexico


photo-20160328032234526

I could have never pegged Mexico to be such a colorful country. In the two days I’ve been here, I’ve seen nothing but colors. Every building is splashed with different colors and even the statues in the streets are colorized in a rainbow of colors. “Hey,” I call to my best friend, Christine, “take a picture of me and the bulls.” I hand her the camera and she gladly snaps the picture. I grab the camera after and playback the pictures. “Yeah, that’ll show her,” I say smiling.

My mom’s constantly saying how insanely dangerous Mexico is, how someone gets decapitated everyday and how their heads end up on the freeway bridge. That’s ridiculous! Mexico is a big country, not every spot is dangerous. I am still smiling when I shut off my camera and return it to the inner pocket of my jacket. “All right,” I say, “let’s go, Christine.” That’s when I notice she’s nowhere to be seen. Oh no, “Christine?” I call into the crowded street. She’s been taken. 

(~173 words)

I am participating in Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writer, where we write a piece between 100 and 150 words (more or less 25 words) in length inspired by the photo prompt above. 

30 thoughts on “Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers: Mexico

  1. Of course, the first thing someone would think of in a situation like this one is the horror stories they have heard, but hopefully, she just got distracted was looking at something and she is not far away. Hopefully!
    Great story…beautiful and then it throws in a scare and leaves you wondering.

    Liked by 1 person

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

