Friday Fictioneers: A Pig Sty


ted-t

PHOTO PROMPT – © Ted Strutz

Inspired by my childhood (but still fiction)…

I have always hated summer vacations, that’s when I have to tag along with my dad to work. Dad is a care-giver and the patient he’s been assigned lived in a pig sty. No, calling this place a pig sty would be a compliment. Yes, it’s that bad. The family smelled like they haven’t bathed in ages, maybe they haven’t, who knows. There was garbage everywhere. One time, I’d even find a toilet in the backyard while I walk around the yard to catch my breath and this always makes me wonder, how do these people live in such place?

(100 words)

Each week, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields-Addicted to Purple hosts Friday Fictioneers where we’re challenged to write a piece of flash fiction in 100 words, more or less, based on the picture above.

16 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: A Pig Sty

  1. Flowers growing in a toilet seat. I would see that as a person who has some fertile soil to be sought out. This might reveal more of a heart than the gorgeous bed next door. But being poor is one think, being dirty is another. There is not much a bed-bound person can do except depend on a caretaker. But then someone grew the flowers; tossing out trash is not that hard!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I quite agree, except it is not just that person in the house, there are 5 other people who are completely capable of taking care of their hygiene but they chose not to do it, even the kids. I haven’t seen the family for years and I sure hope the kids are cleaner now than they were then.

      Like

  2. That’s what I needed to know. I can rest easy now. I’m glad she didn’t get defeated by the pigs in her house. I bet she now has a window box of yellow flowers on her little white cottage. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A horrible way to live. I don’t know why some do it, there can be so many reasons. Antagonism, laziness, ignorance–sometimes mental illness, sometimes indifference, sometimes feelings of entitlement that ‘society has the duty to care.’ It’s sad. A good, thought-provoking story, Yinglan.

    Like

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

