Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers: Afraid


photo-20160321075207812

Everyone warned me against venturing into Somalia. “It’s dangerous,” Katy said. “You’ll get kidnapped by pirates,” Stacy said but I didn’t listen. “I’m a journalist,” I told them, “and journalists hunt for stories,” and that’s what I intended to do until now.

For the first time in my life, I feel afraid. I’ve never felt this way before. Not when I bravely sang my first tune auditioning for the school talent show, not when I played truth or dare and Katy dared me to kiss a girl, not even when the exhausted truck driver crashed into me sending me to the hospital with broken everything.

Now, I’m genuinely afraid as I sit on this dirty floor, mouth gagged, and hands tied to the pole beside me. I know nothing of my current location other than it looks like it used to be a photography studio. Large empty frames hang skew on the walls, the golden glitter shines in the dark.

A man with a hooded face enters holding my phone, “time to go,” he says in broken English.

(~178 words)

I am participating in Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writer, where we write a piece between 100 and 150 words (more or less 25 words) in length inspired by the photo prompt above. 

23 thoughts on “Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers: Afraid

  1. Very frightening! If she ever gets out of there alive, she will be extremely careful where she goes from then on. I can only imagine the horror she must be going through, especially when the hooded person comes in the room! It’s too real to life as we see it on the news. Wonderful job on this , Yinglan.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Not a situation any of us would like to find ourselves in. The taking of hostages is cruel and traumatic to anyone unfortunate enough to be taken – and journalists can lead very dangerous lives in war zones or places of political instability. Well told, Yinglan. The fear she felt came through very well. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

