Flash Fiction For the Purposeful Practitioner: Poisoned


snow

We were within a mile-and-a-half of the service roads when we found him. How could I miss with the vultures circling the sky? “Oh my god,” I gasped and rushed to his side, “Jason?” I yanked the stake from his chest and tossed it as far as I could throw. I could sense the park ranger’s amazement of my strength as I knelt and held him in my arms. “It’ll be okay,” I said to myself as his wound quickly closed. The stake had merely graced his heart. He’ll live. “Give me a blanket.” I demanded.

Quickly, with shaking hands, the ranger handed me a thick blanket and I wrapped it around Jason’s half-naked body. A moment later, he gasped and glanced at me. “Piper, you’re here.” He said weakly.

A tear leaked from the corner of my eyes, “Yes I am.” I sobbed. “I love you.” From my backpack, I pulled out a thermos and held it to his lips. “Drink.” He shook his head. I pressed harder. “Drink!”

“It’s no use, Piper. The stake was poisoned. I was going to die either way but at least this way, I get to die in your arms. I love you.” Slowly, he shut his eyes.

“Jason?” I cried. “Jason! Come back to me!”

(200 words)

This is a response for Roger Shipp’s new flash fiction challenge, Flash Fiction For the Purposeful Practitioner. We are given the beginning of the sentence and we are to finish the story. 

25 thoughts on “Flash Fiction For the Purposeful Practitioner: Poisoned

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

