The Worst and the Best


The worst possible thing that could have happened to me today has already happened. Yesterday, I was so incredibly thrill to finally find a book I like. It’s been a long time since I’ve read a book I like so much.cartoon5819

It’s got all the things I love in a book, suspense and chronicle of life. I began reading it in the morning and couldn’t put it down until I was forced to put it down to accompany my mom on a shopping trip at the base and a trip to Salt Lake City afterwards which resulted in taking 5 hours of my time, 5 hours which I could be reading this adventurous book.

So after we got home at around 4:30, I immediately rushed to my room to finish the book. I was about a quarter complete before I left and spent another two hours completing another quarter of the book. The book went really fast because it was easy to read, like I said, the suspense.

At 6:30, I couldn’t go on any longer, not that I didn’t want to. My stomach was rumbling with hunger and my favorite TV show was starting at 7. As much as I wanted to keep reading, I didn’t want to miss my show. So I chose to watch TV.

At 8:15, after flipping what few channels I have and unable to find anything to watch, I went back upstairs, showered, and returned to the book. Before I knew, it was 10 and I was 85% through. Then my stomach groaned and with that came sharp pain. Why does that always happens at the most pivotal moment? No, I can’t stop now. I have to make it through this book. I have to know the end.

By 11, I couldn’t take it anymore, my stomachache was getting worse. I blamed the water as I rushed to the bathroom. The water at home is too unpredictable for me. It’s the second time I’ve experienced something like this over the winter break. Either I have an extremely weak stomach or there’s something wrong with the water cooler’s water. That’s why I get my water at school.

Anyway, I wound up finishing the book at 11:45, two bathroom trips and four herbal diarrhea pills later. I was exhausted and so ready for bed. I climbed into my bed, took a deep breath, prayed, and slept until almost 9 this morning. My stomach feels a whole lot better this morning. Thank god. If my stomach hasn’t gotten better, I think I’ll have the worst day of what is the best weekend ever.

I might be a little absent in the blogging world these weekend. Don’t worry, I’ve got prepared posts. School’s starting on Monday and with mom gone for the weekend, I am taking the chance to binge-read and binge-write. Weird combination, right?

Daily Prompt: Worst Case Scenario

20 thoughts on “The Worst and the Best

    • The book is “This is Where it Ends” by
      Marieke Nijkamp. I’ve read quite a few negative reviews about the book but I quite enjoyed it. It’s a quick read. 🙂

      Like

    • I’ve read a few stories like that. Unfortunately, I don’t do reviews. I often see reviews as book reports and I’ve only done three book reports in my entire life and hated it. So if I have any comments about the book, I usually just leave it on goodreads.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Fair enough and a good point about it being like a report. It should be something a little unusual to be an interesting review. Authors who want their books to rate more highly and therefore be more visible on amazon, need people to complete reviews, so I guess that reviews have their place.

        Liked by 1 person

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

