Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers: The Hole


photo-20160104141846369

“I can’t believe I never saw it before.” Wendell said hurrying through the hallway of the college. Students, one by one, stopped at the sight and gawked. 

“What?” His colleague, Toby, panted behind him. Wendell charged into the anatomy classroom and pointed at the far wall. “Oh,” responded Toby, staring at the hole in the wall and the skeleton with missing ribs. Wendell bobbed his head up and down. “I swear I’ve already went through this room twice.”

“You didn’t go through it thorough enough.” Wendell spoke with disappointment.

Just then, Professor Raymond entered the room, a large black binder in his arm. “Um, excuse me but may I help you gentlemen?”

Pulling out his notepad, Wendell approached the professor. “Do you use this room often, Professor?”

“All the time,” said the young professor, “it’s the only room I have beside my office.”

“Do you know,” Wendell pointed at the hole in the wall, “how that hole got in the wall.” The professor shook his head nervously. “I think you’ll have to come us, professor.”

(~175 Words)

I am participating in Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writer, where we write a piece between 100 and 150 words (more or less 25 words) in length inspired by the photo prompt above.

If you’re wondering, the skeleton is a real corpse and the detectives had just found their missing person. 

22 thoughts on “Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers: The Hole

  1. It seems to me that the Professor was up to no good! He probably managed to supply that skeleton in the room by fighting and killing someone and then kept the bony skeleton. Maybe that is how the hole got there. Great mystery story!

    Liked by 1 person

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

