Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers: Chopperton


photo-20151228061913907

“And here is Downtown Chopperton,” I heard George Walrus say as the double-decker rolled down Main Street. Oh, don’t mistake me for one of those tourist-trap-sucking-tourists. I’m just a girl window-shopping on a sunny day. “And here, lady and gentlemen, is our famous water tower, designed by famous architect Henry Ruckerby.”

I rolled my eyes. Henry Ruckerby was my neighbor. I used to babysit him when I was ten. The town basically made a 15-year-old kid famous for no reason at all. Even after two years since the town changed its name from Shepard to Chopperton to attract tourists and save the town, I’m still at awe that George, the tour conductor manages to convince the tourists that Chopperton was once a large manufacturer of helicopters.

“Doesn’t that look like a chopper?” He would ask the tourists at their arrival at the water tower. The tourists would immediately dissolve in discussions and nod their heads. To me, the water tower looks like a Hershey Kiss wrapped in too much paper.

(~170 Words)

I am participating in Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writer, where we write a piece between 100 and 150 words (more or less 25 words) in length inspired by the photo prompt above.

19 thoughts on “Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers: Chopperton

  1. Great story Yinglan and well written! Love the spin you took with the prompt. I could see all of it happening easily in my imagination. I agree with you though. It does look like a Hersey’s kiss wrapped up into too much wrapping paper!”

    There is a new flash fiction challenge by Roger Shipp. I wrote a post about it but messed up on the url. If you are interested, here is the correct url:
    https://rogershipp.wordpress.com/2015/12/29/flash-fiction-for-the-purposeful-practitioner-week-1-2016/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice take on the prompt. I guess Hershey has something to do with chocolate bars? I’ve seen it referenced a few times in other stories too. From my Swiss/English viewpoint I don’t really know 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

