Flash Fiction: Freezing


cold house cartoon“We’re going to freeze to death!” I squeal as I pile two more blankets over me, constructing a sort of tent.  I have never been so cold in my life.  It is the end of January, my teeth clatter as I bring myself dangerously close to the space heater.

Why can’t the furnace just for once get us through January? The furnace failed at around 9 pm on Friday night and mom refused to pay extra to have the guy come out on weekends.  So now, we are both going to suffer the entire weekend without heat.  Outside temperature, 25 degree Fahrenheit and inside, 42.

Just 8 more hours, I tell myself as mom come in, sees me sitting insanely close to the space heater, and shrieks, “What are you doing? Are you trying to burn down the house?” She takes the heater off my bed and places it on the floor.

“But it’s freezing in here.” I whine.

“I don’t care. It’s too dangerous. Now go to sleep.” She breaks my blanket tent, forcing me to lay my shaking body down on the cold bed. Piling the blankets on top of me, she says, “Now sleep, you have to get up early for school tomorrow.”

 

Originally written and published: May 5, 2014
Revised: December 10, 2015

To read more flash fiction, click here.

Related Posts:

4 thoughts on “Flash Fiction: Freezing

  1. Great story! It’s better to be cold than risk your life and everyone else in the house. Space heaters are so dangerous and have caused countless fires! Fortunately, her mother corrected the situation by placing the heater on the floor. Even if it is on the floor, it needs to be safe distance from anything that could catch on fire.

    Liked by 1 person

    • This actually happened to me a few times and although I’ve never place a heater on my bed, I’ve sat pretty close to one to keep warm. Having the furnace malfunction really sucks especially if it happens during the coldest part of the year. Thank you for reading.

      Like

  2. Cute story Yinglan! I remember when I was three years old we were at my grandmother’s house and she had a heater that was in the floor. I was freezing so I ran to stand on the heater to warm up and badly burned the bottoms of my feet.

    Liked by 1 person

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

