Freestyle Writing Challenge


When I saw almost every blogger I’m currently following are being challenged one way or another to participate in the Freestyle Writing Challenge, I knew it would be a matter of time before one of my favorite bloggers tosses my name in the ring. Then it happened, I was challenged by not one, but two bloggers, Author S B Mazing and Ompong at Photo Ni Ompong, and I will happily accept the challenge.

The rules for the challenge:

1. Open a blank Document
2. Set a stop watch or your mobile phone timer to 5 or 10 minutes, whichever challenge you prefer.
3. Your topic is at the foot of this post BUT DO NOT SCROLL DOWN TO SEE IT UNTIL YOU ARE READY WITH YOUR TIMER!!!
4. Once you start writing do not stop until the alarm sounds!
5. Do not cheat by going back and correcting spelling and grammar using spell check (it is only meant for you to reflect on your own control of sensible thought flow and for you to reflect on your ability to write with correct spelling and grammar.)
6. You may or may not pay attention to punctuation or capitals.
7. At the end of your post write down ‘No. of words = ____” to give an idea of how much you can write within the time frame.
8. Do not forget to copy paste the entire passage on your blog post with a new topic for your nominees and copy paste these rules with your nomination (at least five (5) bloggers)

Since Author S B Mazing was the first to throw in my name, I will do her topic fist. Please beware, I followed the rules and didn’t go back to edit. Just keep that in mind as you read through.

Author S B Mazing’s topic: Sunset

8865f6bf7ee990d02f5275dde51b33ee.900x599x1Sunsets, what’s up with them? Sure, they’re a pleasure to look at. What I don’t understand is why do all romantic movie endings often end with the lovebirds riding off into the sunset? It’s rather a silly question but doesn’t sunset blind their eyes? I mean I tried driving in the direction of a sunset before and I couldn’t see anything. My eyes just kept watering like a hose.

So why do romantic couples like to ride off into the sunset? Beats me. What I do know is although I do enjoy sunsets, I do not enjoy the presence of sunsets. So I was most thankful that my mom had decided to purchase a home that is north and south facing instead of east and west.

We saw so many houses when we were house-hunting. I found that a lot of the east and west facing houses tend to be more beautiful. Bigger, grander, even a little pricier. As I walked through them, I felt a presence of the sun. At first, I thought how nice it would be to wake up in the presence of the sun but then I thought, this is Utah, there is no sun rise, only sunset. In the end, I guess I’m sort of glad I don’t have to be in the presence of a glowing orange sun everyday.

# of words = 225
Time = I chose 10 minutes but I could only write for about 8.5 minutes

Ompong’s topic: What would you rather be, a vampire or a werewolf? And Why?

What would I rather be, a vampire or a werewolf? Hmm, that’s an interesting question. I would ea3d0a38ab40b04ff381e645360338a8have to say vampire. According to the supernatural food chain, at least in my perspective, the witch is at the top of the food chain, then it follows vampire, and then werewolf, and lastly zombies. Witches, they have power plus they don’t have to depend on killing people for food. They are human after all.

Vampires, on the other hand, they are killers, murderers, and worst of all, they are immortal which means their body count will add up over the years. So why do I want to be a vampire? Mostly the immortal thing. I like the idea of living forever, get to experience the change of politics and culture. Most people don’t get to see that because it often take many many years actually, it’s more like decades and centuries to see those changes. Other than that, I don’t really see the appeal in being an undead creature of the night.

Why I don’t want to be a werewolf? That’s easy. They’re too vulnerable. They’re animals, after all, dogs to be specific. And with fur, that comes with fleece, lice, and don’t get me started on the change every full moon and waking up back in my human body naked. I don’t feel at all secure in a werewolf body. So you see why I rather be a vampire than a loyal cuddly girl-wolf?

# of words = 243
Time = Once again, I chose 10 minutes but I could only write for about 8.5 minutes

This was fun and I found out I get anxious during timed writing. It makes my fingers fly across the keyboard.

Thanks again for the nominations!

Now, here are my victims nominations:

  1. Karen of In a small compass…
  2. Barbara of Teleportingweena
  3. Lucy of the Excessive Gardener
  4. Sooch of Lilrant
  5. Geethu of Chococurrent

You can choose to accept or ignore the challenge but pretty please accept it, for me?

If you choose to accept this challenge, please write for the following topic:

Dog or cat for a pet? Why?

16 thoughts on “Freestyle Writing Challenge

  1. Awesome free writing. Thumbs up for the sarcasm in the Sunset Topic. You do raise a good question, and made me ponder.
    So if you elope into the sunset, what happens when the sun goes down or do you continue round the world chasing the sunset?. Just Curious.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yinglan, you are great on unedited free writing. You could have let down you standard a bit and filled the ten minutes. You chose to remain true to your standard instead of “chasing rabbits” to fill in time. In real life that is a good choice.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yup, to be immortal and see how the world changes is really one of benefits of being a vampire. And amassing wealth as well as you cruise through eternity. Most vampires I watched in the movie were rich… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Reflection Vol. 6: Fate, Destiny, Curse | A Simple Life

Anything you want to ask? Want to know?

